UK’s trusted IT infrastructure partner since 2003
Servnet
FinanceToolsConfiguratorGet in Touch
Cisco · Cisco UCS C-Series M4 rack servers

UCS C220 M4 end of life

The Cisco UCS C220 M4 is past end of support: Cisco's bulletin EOL12709 set its Last Date of Support at 29 February 2024, and Cisco's support page now states 'This model is no longer supported by Cisco.' Released in September 2014 as a 1RU server on Intel Xeon E5-2600 v3 or v4 processors, the C220 M4 gets no further firmware fixes from Cisco, so keeping one running is a question of hardware cover from outside Cisco and of the firmware already installed.

UCS C220 M4 support dates

Every row names its basis. A third-party tracker date is not the vendor’s own, and “not published” means exactly that.
MilestoneDateBasisSource
End-of-Life Announcement Date16 August 2018Vendor-publishedCisco EOL12709 (Amended, updated 24 Aug 2019): End-of-Sale and End-of-Life Announcement for the Cisco Unified Computing System C-Series Rack Servers (C220 M4, C240 M4 and C460 M4)
End-of-Sale Date14 February 2019Vendor-publishedCisco EOL12709 (Amended)
Last Ship Date15 May 2019Vendor-publishedCisco EOL12709 (Amended)
End of SW Maintenance Releases Date14 February 2020Vendor-publishedThe bulletin says this milestone applies only to the IMC software.Cisco EOL12709 (Amended)
End of New Service Attachment Date14 February 2020Vendor-publishedCisco EOL12709 (Amended)
End of Service Contract Renewal Date12 May 2023Vendor-publishedCisco EOL12709 (Amended)
End of Vulnerability/Security Support29 February 2024Vendor-publishedCisco EOL12709 (Amended)
Last Date of Support29 February 2024Vendor-publishedCisco's C220 M4 support page also shows End-of-Sale Date 14-FEB-2019 and End-of-Support Date 29-FEB-2024.Cisco EOL12709 (Amended)

Where the UCS C220 M4 stands today

Every C220 M4 milestone in Cisco's amended EOL12709 bulletin (updated 24 August 2019) is now in the past. Cisco announced end of life on 16 August 2018, ended sales on 14 February 2019 and set the Last Ship Date at 15 May 2019. On 14 February 2020 two things stopped: new service attachment, and software maintenance releases, a milestone the bulletin says applies only to the IMC software. Service contract renewals closed on 12 May 2023, and both End of Vulnerability/Security Support and the Last Date of Support fell on 29 February 2024. With those dates gone, Cisco TAC and RMA support is no longer available for the model.

There is no per-unit date to look up. Cisco ties the dates to product IDs, and EOL12709 has a single milestone table covering all of them, so a UCSC-C220-M4S or UCSC-C220-M4L, including the -BR, -CH, NEBS and spare variants, reached the same 29 February 2024 end. Checking the chassis PID against Table 2 confirms a unit is on the bulletin. Cisco's support page also still flags Field Notice FN-70545 with 'upgrade recommended', which is worth acting on for any C220 M4 still running affected SSDs.

UCS C220 M4: lifecycle on one axis
UCS C220 M4 lifecycle timeline20142016201820202022202420262028Checked 8 Oct 20268 Sept 2014Released16 Aug 2018End-of-Life AnnouncementDate14 Feb 2019End-of-Sale Date15 May 2019Last Ship Date14 Feb 2020End of SW MaintenanceReleases Date; End of NewService Attachment Date12 May 2023End of Service ContractRenewal Date29 Feb 2024End ofVulnerability/SecuritySupport; Last Date ofSupport
Dated milestones are placed only where a source gives the date; Blue = vendor-published, amber = third-party tracker, violet = derived from a vendor policy. Checked 8 October 2026.
Finding the date for your own unit

Cisco dates are model-wide per product ID. Check the chassis PID (UCSC-C220-M4S or UCSC-C220-M4L, including -BR, -CH, NEBS and spare variants) against Table 2 of EOL12709 (https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/collateral/servers-unified-computing/ucs-c-series-rack-servers/eos-eol-notice-c51-741235.html). The bulletin has one milestone table for all its PIDs, so all of them share the 29 Feb 2024 Last Date of Support.

What still works after Cisco support ends

Cisco's software support for the C220 M4 has closed in full. IMC software maintenance releases ended on 14 February 2020, security remedies ended on 29 February 2024, and Cisco releases no further firmware fixes for the platform. A vulnerability report about a C220 M4 will still be accepted by Cisco PSIRT, but under Cisco's security vulnerability policy it will not be analysed, fixed or disclosed, and no CVE will be issued. The C220 M4 SFF spec sheet lists 'Ongoing downloads of BIOS, drivers, and firmware updates' among what the no-contract Unified Computing Warranty supplied, alongside three years of parts cover; it is silent on whether that continues once the warranty or the Last Date of Support has passed.

A C220 M4 can no longer be put on a Cisco contract or have one renewed: new service attachment closed on 14 February 2020 and contract renewals on 12 May 2023, and the Last Date of Support has passed. For an organisation keeping C220 M4 hardware, Cisco third-party maintenance is one route to diagnosis, replacement parts and engineer visits now that Cisco's own cover has ended.

  • Maintenance releases of the IMC software ended on 14 Feb 2020, and security remedies ended on 29 Feb 2024. Cisco releases no further firmware fixes for this platform. (cisco.com)
  • Because the C220 M4 is past its Last Day of Support, Cisco PSIRT will accept vulnerability reports but will not analyse, fix or disclose them, and issues no CVEs for them. (sec.cloudapps.cisco.com)
  • Cisco's C220 M4 SFF spec sheet lists 'Ongoing downloads of BIOS, drivers, and firmware updates' among the coverage supplied under the no-contract Unified Computing Warranty, alongside three-year parts coverage. It does not say whether this continues after the warranty or the Last Date of Support. (cisco.com)

What a maintenance contract needs to cover on the UCS C220 M4

The C220 M4 came in two 1RU chassis: an SFF version with an eight-drive backplane for 2.5-inch drives, where bays 1 and 2 accept NVMe SSDs if PCIe riser 2B is fitted, and an LFF version with a four-drive backplane for 3.5-inch SAS/SATA drives. Storage runs on embedded SATA-only software RAID (up to eight SATA drives, RAID 0, 1 or 10), the Cisco 12G SAS Modular RAID controller in its dedicated slot, or the JBOD-only Cisco 12 Gbps Modular SAS HBA, and the contract should state which. Networking is two Intel i350 1GbE LOM ports, an mLOM slot and a 1GbE dedicated management port for CIMC; memory is 24 DDR4 slots, up to 1536 GB with 64 GB DIMMs. The SFF spec sheet lists up to two 770 W AC or 1050 W DC hot-swappable supplies, the second for 1+1 redundancy.

Solid-state drives need a specific check. Cisco Field Notice FN70545 (version 2.0, 30 June 2023) names the C220 M4 among affected products and covers 27 SSD PIDs, 16 of them 400 GB and 11 of them 1.6 TB, which a firmware bug causes to report 0 GB and drop offline at 40,000 power-on hours, roughly four and a half years. Cisco's fix is drive firmware C405, shipped in Host Upgrade Utility packages from C-Series 3.0(4p), 4.0(2n) or 4.1(1f) onwards, and it states that proactive replacement is not available. Confirming drive firmware is a sensible first step, after which the maintenance coverage builder is where to request a quote covering the drives, controller and supplies actually fitted.

UCS C220 M4: what to tell a maintenance provider
UCS C220 M4 hardware factsCISCO · CISCO UCS C-SERIES M4 RACK SERVERSUCS C220 M4Past the vendor’s last date ofsupportFORM FACTOR1RU rack serverPROCESSORS1 or 2 Intel Xeon E5-2600 v3 or v4processors on an Intel C610 series chipsetMEMORY24 DDR4 DIMM slots (RDIMM or LRDIMM).Maximum 1536 GB with 64 GB DIMMs.DRIVE BAYSSFF version: 8-drive backplane for 2.5indrives, with up to 2 NVMe SSDs in bays 1-2(needs PCIe riser 2B). LFF version: 4-drivebackplane for up to four 3.5in SAS/SATAdrives.STORAGE CONTROLLEREmbedded SATA-only software RAID (up to 8SATA drives, RAID 0/1/10), the Cisco 12GSAS Modular RAID controller in a dedicatedslot, or the Cisco 12 Gbps Modular SAS HBA(JBOD only)NETWORK2 x Intel i350 1GbE LOM ports, an mLOM slotand a 1GbE dedicated management portPOWER SUPPLIESUp to two 770 W AC or two 1050 W DChot-swappable units, one mandatory and asecond for 1+1 redundancyMANAGEMENT CONTROLLERBMC running Cisco Integrated ManagementController (CIMC) firmware, reachablethrough the 1GbE dedicated management port,the 1GbE LOM ports or a Cisco VIC8 sourced specification facts · checked 8 October 2026
The hardware facts a maintenance quote is priced on, printed in the vendor's own wording from its specification documents (cited in Sources). Nothing on this plate is estimated; facts the vendor does not state are left off rather than filled in.
UCS C220 M4 hardware, from Cisco’s own specification documents
SpecificationDetailSource
Form factor1RU rack servercisco.com
Processors1 or 2 Intel Xeon E5-2600 v3 or v4 processors on an Intel C610 series chipsetcisco.com
Memory24 DDR4 DIMM slots (RDIMM or LRDIMM). Maximum 1536 GB with 64 GB DIMMs.cisco.com
Drive baysSFF version: 8-drive backplane for 2.5in drives, with up to 2 NVMe SSDs in bays 1-2 (needs PCIe riser 2B). LFF version: 4-drive backplane for up to four 3.5in SAS/SATA drives.cisco.com
Storage controllerEmbedded SATA-only software RAID (up to 8 SATA drives, RAID 0/1/10), the Cisco 12G SAS Modular RAID controller in a dedicated slot, or the Cisco 12 Gbps Modular SAS HBA (JBOD only)cisco.com
Network2 x Intel i350 1GbE LOM ports, an mLOM slot and a 1GbE dedicated management portcisco.com
Power suppliesUp to two 770 W AC or two 1050 W DC hot-swappable units, one mandatory and a second for 1+1 redundancycisco.com
Management controllerBMC running Cisco Integrated Management Controller (CIMC) firmware, reachable through the 1GbE dedicated management port, the 1GbE LOM ports or a Cisco VICcisco.com

Extend or refresh the UCS C220 M4?

Extending a C220 M4 on hardware maintenance can make sense where the server runs a contained, stable workload and the team accepts that its firmware is frozen. Third-party cover keeps the drives, supplies, memory and controllers repairable, but it does not alter the security position: Cisco's security remedies ended on 29 February 2024, PSIRT no longer analyses or fixes vulnerabilities reported against a product past its Last Date of Support, and the bulletin's End of SW Maintenance Releases date for the IMC software was 14 February 2020. Any C220 M4 kept in service with affected SSDs should have drive firmware C405 installed.

Where the server handles sensitive data or sits on untrusted networks, the absence of security fixes argues for refresh. Cisco named the replacement in EOL12709: the UCSC-C220-M4S maps to the UCSC-C220-M5SX and the UCSC-C220-M4L to the UCSC-C220-M5L, and the C220 M4 support page also names the UCS C220 M5. Before treating that as the destination, read the UCS C220 M5 end of life page, because the replacement has a Cisco support timeline of its own to weigh.

  • Cisco Field Notice FN70545 (version 2.0, 30 Jun 2023) lists the UCS C220 M4 among affected products. It covers 27 SSD PIDs, 16 at 400 GB and 11 at 1.6 TB. Because of a firmware bug, these drives report 0 GB and go offline at 40,000 power-on hours (about 4.5 years). The fix is drive firmware C405, delivered via the Host Upgrade Utility in C-Series releases 3.0(4p), 4.0(2n) or 4.1(1f) and later. Cisco states that proactive replacement is not available. (cisco.com)
  • Cisco's support page states 'This model is no longer supported by Cisco' and names the UCS C220 M5 as the replacement. It also flags FN-70545 with 'upgrade recommended'. (cisco.com)
  • Contract renewal closed on 12 May 2023 and the Last Date of Support passed on 29 Feb 2024, so Cisco TAC and RMA support is no longer available for this model. (cisco.com)
UCS C220 M4: what came before and what replaces it
UCS C220 M4 product lineageUCS C220 M3Inferred: the previousgeneration in the same 1RUline. Not stated in thebulletin.UCS C220 M4Released 8 Sept 2014Past the last date of supportUCS C220 M5(UCSC-C220-M4S isreplaced byUCSC-C220-M5SX,UCSC-C220-M4L byUCSC-C220-M5L)Named as the replacement inthe vendor noticeCisco · Cisco UCS C-Series M4 rack servers
The successor shown is the one the vendor names in its own end-of-life notice.

Keep your UCS C220 M4 covered

Tell us how many you run and when your current cover ends, and we will come back with a like-for-like maintenance quote for that estate. Your model and its support status are attached to the enquiry automatically, so there is nothing to re-type.

Cisco maintenance in detail →

The C220 M4 shares EOL12709, and so every date on this page, with the UCS C240 M4 and the C460 M4. Its own forerunner is presumed to be the C220 M3, the prior 1RU generation, though the bulletin does not say so. Cisco named the C220 M5 as the C220 M4's replacement; for estates that mix models, UCS C240 M5 end-of-life dates set out the C240 M5's position.

Where the UCS C220 M4 sits against related models
UCS C220 M4: end of support passed 2.6 years ago (29 February 2024, the vendor’s date).201420162018202020222024202620282030UCS C220 M4UCS C240 M4UCS C220 M5UCS C240 M5TodayUCS C220 M4: end of support passed 2.6 years ago (29 February 2024, the vendor’s date).
Each bar runs from release to the milestone that marks end of support for the model as a whole. Amber bars end on a third-party tracker's date, not the vendor's. A dashed open end means no end date is published — not that support is indefinite. Component and accessory dates (a management controller, a power module) are not treated as the model's.

Look up another model in the server & network end-of-life checker, or read what third-party maintenance covers.

Questions people ask about the UCS C220 M4

Is the Cisco UCS C220 M4 end of life?

Yes. Cisco's bulletin EOL12709 gave the C220 M4 a Last Date of Support of 29 February 2024, and Cisco's support page now shows 'End of Support' for the model.

When did Cisco stop supporting the C220 M4?

Security support and the Last Date of Support both ended on 29 February 2024. Earlier, IMC software maintenance releases and new attachments to Cisco contracts both stopped on 14 February 2020, and renewals closed on 12 May 2023.

Can I still download firmware for the C220 M4?

Cisco releases no further firmware fixes for the C220 M4. Its spec sheet counts ongoing BIOS, driver and firmware downloads as part of the no-contract warranty but gives no answer for the period after the warranty or the Last Date of Support. The FN70545 SSD fix, drive firmware C405, was delivered in Host Upgrade Utility releases from 3.0(4p), 4.0(2n) or 4.1(1f) onwards.

What replaced the Cisco C220 M4?

Cisco's EOL12709 bulletin names the UCS C220 M5: the UCSC-C220-M4S is replaced by the UCSC-C220-M5SX and the UCSC-C220-M4L by the UCSC-C220-M5L. The C220 M4 support page also lists the C220 M5 as the replacement.

Can I get third-party maintenance for a C220 M4?

Cisco TAC and RMA support ended with the Last Date of Support, so any hardware cover now comes from outside Cisco. A third-party contract typically brings fault diagnosis, spare parts and engineers, and is not tied to Cisco's support dates. An alternative to Cisco SmartNet explains how that works, and you can ask for a quote on your configuration.

Sources

Every date, rule and specification above was checked against these on 8 October 2026 by an independent verification pass. Vendors revise lifecycle notices; this page is re-checked by 8 January 2027.

  1. Cisco EOL12709 (Amended, updated 24 Aug 2019): End-of-Sale and End-of-Life Announcement for the Cisco Unified Computing System C-Series Rack Servers (C220 M4, C240 M4 and C460 M4) — cisco.com
  2. UCS C220 M4 release — cisco.com
  3. sec.cloudapps.cisco.com — sec.cloudapps.cisco.com
  4. cisco.com — cisco.com
  5. cisco.com — cisco.com
  6. cisco.com — cisco.com

Last reviewed 7 October 2026. Lifecycle dates for the UCS C220 M4 are re-verified against Cisco's own notices at each review; a date a vendor has not published is never filled in.