UK’s trusted IT infrastructure partner since 2003
Servnet
FinanceToolsConfiguratorGet in Touch
Technical data sheet · PowerEdge XR rugged edge · 2U short-depth, dual-socket

Dell PowerEdge XR7620Specifications, configurations & comparisons

The XR7620 is Dell’s two-socket 2U edge server in a 472 mm short-depth chassis, built to carry GPUs — as many as two 350 W double-width cards — into factories, shops and other space-constrained sites. Everything here comes from Dell’s June 2024 specification sheet, the one Dell document we hold for this model, so the page keeps to what that sheet commits to and marks what it leaves unsaid.

2U Rack2 socketsiDRAC9
32cores per CPU2 × 4th Gen Xeon · 5th Gen to 16
2TBDDR5 maximum16 RDIMM slots · up to 5200 MT/s
8E3.S NVMe baysor 4 × 2.5" SAS/SATA/NVMe SSD
2double-wide GPUs350 W · or 4 × 75 W SW + 1 LP
472mmshort-depth chassis471.8 mm without bezel
55°Cmaximum operatingfrom −5°C · air cooled

Every figure checked against the PowerEdge XR7620 Specification Sheet - Short-depth accelerated data center-level compute, purpose-built for the edge (June 2024)

Form factor
2U Rack · 2 sockets
Memory
16 × DDR5 RDIMM · up to 2 TB
Drive bays
Up to 8 · 2 drive-bay layouts
Expansion
5 × PCIe · 1 × OCP 3.0
GPUs
Up to 5 · 3 listed
Boot
M.2 and BOSS · 2 boot options
Management
iDRAC9
01 — Overview

The XR7620 at a glance

Our read of Dell’s documentation: where the XR7620 is strong, and the limits worth knowing before you spec one.

Strengths

  • Two processors of up to 32 cores each in a 472 mm short-depth chassis that Dell pitches at space-constrained edge sites.
  • A choice of GPU envelopes: four 75 W single-width cards plus a 75 W low-profile card, or two 350 W double-width cards.
  • Five PCIe slots with both processors fitted: four x16 at Gen4/5 and one x16 low-profile Gen4.
  • Reversible I/O and power — the Front Accessed build puts every port on the front and leaves nothing to reach at the back.
  • Five hot-swap redundant supply options, including −48 to −60 V DC and 277 V AC / 336 V DC.

Watch-outs

  • The spec sheet gives no processor, DIMM, NIC or riser list, only families and limits, so SKU-level choices must be confirmed at quote stage.
  • 5th Gen Xeon parts stop at 16 cores; the 32-core ceiling applies to 4th Gen only.
  • Memory is rated up to 5200 MT/s and registered ECC DDR5 is the only type supported.
  • Storage is one of two front layouts — four 2.5-inch SSD bays or eight E3.S NVMe drives — rather than a large bay count.
  • Air cooling only, with six cold-swap fans; the MIL 810H and NEBS Level 3 tests cover limited configurations, and the bezel dust sensor works only on Front Accessed systems.
DIMM slots16
Drive layouts2
Max bays8
GPUsup to 5
PSU options5 · to 1,800 W
02 — Storage

2 drive-bay layouts, up to 8 bays

Two front layouts: up to four 2.5-inch SAS, SATA or NVMe SSDs with a 61.44 TB ceiling, or up to eight E3.S NVMe “direct” drives with a 51.2 TB ceiling. Controllers are the PERC H965i, H755 and H355, the HBA355i and S160 software RAID, and the operating system boots from BOSS-N1 or an internal USB module.

Headline layouts

front panel view

Front panel

8 × EDSFF NVMe at the front — 8 bays in total.

SAS/SATANVMeSAS/SATA + NVMe

Controllers & boot

  • PERC H965i — RAID. Internal controller (spec sheet); cache not stated
  • PERC H755 — RAID. Internal controller (spec sheet); cache not stated
  • PERC H355 — RAID. Internal controller (spec sheet); cache not stated
  • HBA355i — HBA. Internal HBA (spec sheet)
  • PERC S160 — Software RAID. Software RAID (spec sheet)
  • BOSS-N1 (2 x M.2 NVMe SSD, HW RAID 1, cold swap) — boot
  • Internal USB module — boot
  • If all eight E3.S bays hold equal drives, the 51.2 TB ceiling works out at 6.4 TB each; four equal 2.5-inch drives at 61.44 TB are 15.36 TB each — a quick check when comparing quotes.
  • For boot, BOSS-N1 keeps two cold-swap M.2 NVMe SSDs in a hardware RAID 1 mirror.
  • The 2.5-inch bays are listed for SSDs; the spec sheet mentions no hard-disk option.
  • No external storage controller (such as an HBA355e or PERC H965e) is listed for this model.

Every documented layout

2 with drive bays
4 x 2.5-inch SAS/SATA/NVMe SSD front bays (61.44 T…4 x 2.5-inch SAS/SATA/NVMe SSD front bays (61.44 TB max)48 x E3.S NVMe direct drives (51.2 TB max)8 x E3.S NVMe direct drives (51.2 TB max)8Bays · solid = front · dashed = rear · brighter = NVMe-only
2.5-inch3.5-inchEDSFF (E1.S / E3.S)
03Accelerators & I/O

GPUs, PCIe and networking

Dell sells the XR7620 as accelerated edge compute, and its spec sheet defines two GPU envelopes rather than a card list: up to four 75 W single-width full-height/half-length cards plus one 75 W low-profile card, or, instead, a maximum of two 350 W double-width cards at full height and full length. 4 × 75 W SW FH/HL + 1 × 75 W LP, or 2 × 350 W DW FH/FL. Dell does not name the GPU models.

75 W single-width full-height/half-length GPU (model not named in spec sheet)

up to 4 (plus one 75 W low-profile)

75 W low-profile GPU (model not named in spec sheet)

up to 1 (in addition to four SW FH/HL)

350 W double-width full-height/full-length GPU (model not named in spec sheet)

up to 2

I/O topology

2 sockets
CPU 1PCIe Gen4/58 DIMMCPU 2PCIe Gen4/58 DIMM4 × x16 PCIe Gen4/5two-processor configuration1 × x16 low-profile Gen4two-processor configurationOCP 3.0 slot (optional)cards not listed2 × 1 GbE LOMembedded · plus iDRAC port

With both processors installed there are five PCIe slots: four x16 slots at Gen4/5 and a fifth x16 low-profile Gen4 slot. Networking is two embedded 1 GbE LOM ports plus an optional OCP 3.0 card.

Network adapters Dell lists

1 option
AdapterPortsForm
Embedded LOM 2 x 1 GbE2 × 1GbELOM
  • Dell quotes the slot count for a two-processor configuration, and the processor row describes two-CPU builds only.
  • The serial port is an option, and Dell places it on slot 5.
  • The spec sheet does not list OCP cards, NIC chipsets or riser options.
04 — Power & cooling

5 power supplies, 1,100–1,800 W

Five hot-swap redundant supplies are listed. Three take 240 V HVDC as well as AC — the 1800 W Titanium on 200–240 V AC only, the 1400 W Platinum and the 1100 W Titanium on 100–240 V AC. The remaining two serve special feeds: 277 V AC or 336 V DC for a 1400 W Titanium model, and −48 to −60 V DC for an 1100 W model.

05001000150020001100 W N/A (DC) — -48 to -60 VDC1100DC1100 W Titanium — 100-240 VAC or 240 HVDC1100Titanium1400 W Platinum — 100-240 VAC or 240 HVDC1400Platinum1400 W Titanium — 277 VAC or 336 VDC1400Titanium1800 W Titanium — 200-240 VAC or 240 HVDC1800TitaniumWatts · dashed line = output at 100–120 V low line
AC277 VAC / HVDC
  • The 1800 W unit is the only AC supply limited to 200–240 V input.
  • Two of the five units are not standard AC supplies: the 1400 W Titanium model is fed at 277 V AC or 336 V DC, and the 1100 W DC model at −48 to −60 V.
  • Low-line derating, current draw and heat output are not published on the spec sheet.
05 — Management, security & OS

Run it, secure it, choose the OS

Management

  • iDRAC9
  • iDRAC Direct (front micro-AB USB)
  • iDRAC RESTful API with Redfish
  • iDRAC Service Module
  • NativeEdge Endpoint Orchestrator
  • OpenManage Enterprise with Power Manager, Service and Update Manager plug-ins
  • CloudIQ for PowerEdge plug-in
  • OpenManage Mobile

Security

  • Silicon Root of Trust
  • Cryptographically signed firmware
  • Secure Boot
  • Secured Component Verification (hardware integrity check)
  • Data at Rest Encryption (SEDs, local or external key management)
  • Secure Erase
  • System Lockdown (iDRAC9 Enterprise or Datacenter)
  • TPM 2.0 FIPS, CC-TCG certified; TPM 2.0 China NationZ
  • Optional lockable bezel with dust filter

Operating systems

  • Microsoft Windows Server with Hyper-V
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux
  • SUSE Linux Enterprise Server
  • VMware ESXi
  • Canonical Ubuntu Server LTS
  • Dell NativeEdge OS
06 — Compare

How the XR7620 compares with its family

Beside the XR7620 sit Dell’s other XR models covered here — the single-socket 1U XR5610 and the half-width XR8720t sled — and the data-centre R760, a 2U server with 32 DIMM slots. The bars compare the limits each model’s documents give.

XR7620XR5610XR8720tR760Cores / CPUXR7620: 00XR5610: 3232XR8720t: 7272R760: 6464DIMM slotsXR7620: 1616XR5610: 88XR8720t: 88R760: 3232Max memoryXR7620: 2 TB2XR5610: 1 TB1XR8720t: 0 TB0R760: 8 TB8Max drive baysXR7620: 88XR5610: 44XR8720t: 00R760: 2828Max GPUsXR7620: 55XR5610: 22XR8720t: 00R760: 66Largest PSUXR7620: 1,800 W1,800XR5610: 1,800 W1,800XR8720t: 1,400 W1,400R760: 3,200 W3,200
This modelSiblings and successorEach value from that model’s own verified spec file · bars scale per column
07 — Use cases

Three builds that suit the XR7620

Three builds for the workloads Dell names for the XR7620. They use parts the configurator allows on this model, but because Dell lists no processor or DIMM SKUs for it, treat the CPU and memory choices as starting points to confirm; each processor’s core count and generation comes from Dell’s R760 Technical Guide.

Industrial automation

Plant-floor virtualisation host

Two 24-core processors and 512 GB run control, historian and HMI virtual machines side by side in a shallow edge cabinet. Four SAS SSDs sit behind a PERC H755 controller, and BOSS-N1 holds the hypervisor on its own mirrored pair.

  • 2 × Intel Xeon 5418Y — 4th Gen, 24 cores each
  • 16 × 32 GB DDR5-4800 RDIMM — 512 GB
  • 4 × 1.92 TB SAS SSD — 7.68 TB raw
  • PERC H755
  • BOSS-N1 boot mirror (2 × M.2 NVMe, RAID 1)
  • 2 × 1400 W Platinum, hot-swap redundant
  • VMware vSphere ESXi 8.0
  • ProSupport, 4-hour response, 5 years

The processor and DIMMs are configurator picks within the spec sheet’s limits (4th Gen, up to 32 cores; RDIMM to 2 TB) — Dell publishes no SKU list for the XR7620 on that sheet, so we confirm them before ordering.

Open this build in the configurator →
Video analytics · AI inference

Camera-estate analytics server

Eight E3.S NVMe drives keep recent footage close to the cameras, and two 32-core processors with 1 TB of memory run the analytics pipeline. The chassis takes up to two 350 W double-width GPUs; the configurator does not list them yet, so we add the cards to the quote.

  • 2 × Intel Xeon 6448Y — 4th Gen, 32 cores each
  • 16 × 64 GB DDR5-4800 RDIMM — 1 TB
  • 8 × 3.84 TB E3.S NVMe — 30.72 TB raw
  • BOSS-N1 boot mirror (2 × M.2 NVMe, RAID 1)
  • 2 × 1800 W Titanium (200–240 V AC), hot-swap redundant
  • Canonical Ubuntu Server 24.04 LTS
  • ProSupport, 4-hour response, 5 years

Keep the E3.S drives within Dell’s 51.2 TB ceiling, and match any GPUs to one of the two documented envelopes. Processor and DIMMs are configurator picks to confirm.

Open this build in the configurator →
Edge device aggregation

DC-fed aggregation node

Edge point device aggregation is one of the workloads Dell lists for the XR7620. This build draws on the 1100 W −48 to −60 V DC supplies, stays inside the sheet’s 5th Gen limit with two 16-core processors, and keeps collected data on four NVMe SSDs behind the PERC H965i.

  • 2 × Intel Xeon 4514Y — 5th Gen, 16 cores each
  • 16 × 32 GB DDR5-5600 RDIMM — 512 GB (the XR7620 runs memory at up to 5200 MT/s)
  • 4 × 3.84 TB 2.5-inch NVMe SSD — 15.36 TB raw
  • PERC H965i
  • BOSS-N1 boot mirror (2 × M.2 NVMe, RAID 1)
  • 2 × 1100 W −48 to −60 V DC, hot-swap redundant
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9
  • ProSupport, 4-hour response, 5 years

Dell’s MIL 810H and NEBS Level 3 testing covers limited configurations only, so ask us to check a build against it before relying on either rating. The processor and DIMMs are configurator picks to confirm.

Open this build in the configurator →
08 — Full specifications

Dell PowerEdge XR7620 specifications

Chassis

Form factor2U short-depth rack server · Rear Accessed or Front Accessed configuration
Height × width86.8 × 482.6 mm
Depth, Rear Accessed448.8 mm ear to rear wall · 471.8 mm without bezel · 496.3 mm with bezel
Depth, Front Accessed471.8 mm without bezel · 572 mm with bezel
WeightUp to 21.16 kg
CoolingAir only · six cold-swap fans
BezelOptional security bezel with dust filter · dust sensor on Front Accessed systems only

Processor & memory

ProcessorsTwo 4th Gen Xeon Scalable (up to 32 cores each) or two 5th Gen (up to 16 cores each)
Memory16 × DDR5 slots · registered ECC RDIMM only · up to 2 TB · up to 5200 MT/s

Storage

Front baysUp to 4 × 2.5-inch SAS/SATA/NVMe SSD (61.44 TB max) or up to 8 × E3.S NVMe direct (51.2 TB max)
ControllersPERC H965i, H755, H355 · HBA355i · S160 software RAID
BootBOSS-N1 (2 × M.2 NVMe, hardware RAID 1, cold swap) or internal USB module

Expansion, GPUs & networking

PCIeUp to 5 slots with two processors: 4 × x16 Gen4/5 + 1 × x16 low-profile Gen4
GPUsUp to 4 × 75 W single-width FH/HL + 1 × 75 W low-profile, or up to 2 × 350 W double-width FH/FL
Embedded NIC2 × 1 GbE LOM
Network option1 × OCP 3.0 card

Power

AC / HVDC1800 W Titanium (200–240 V AC or 240 V HVDC) · 1400 W Platinum and 1100 W Titanium (100–240 V AC or 240 V HVDC)
277 V AC / 336 V DC1400 W Titanium
DC1100 W, −48 to −60 V DC

Ports

Rear Accessed, frontiDRAC Direct (micro-AB USB) · USB 2.0
Rear Accessed, rearUSB 2.0 · iDRAC dedicated port · USB 3.0 · VGA · serial (optional, slot 5)
Front Accessed, frontUSB 2.0 · iDRAC dedicated port · USB 3.0 · serial (optional, slot 5) · VGA · iDRAC Direct (micro-AB USB) · no rear ports
InternalUSB 3.0 (optional)

Environment

Operating temperature−5°C to 55°C
TestingMIL 810H and NEBS Level 3 (limited configurations)
09 — FAQ

XR7620 questions, answered from the documentation

Which processors does the Dell PowerEdge XR7620 support?

Two Intel Xeon Scalable processors: 4th Gen parts with up to 32 cores each, or 5th Gen parts with up to 16 cores each. Dell’s spec sheet does not list individual SKUs, TDPs or cache sizes, so we confirm the exact processor at quote stage.

What is the maximum memory of the XR7620?

2 TB across 16 DDR5 slots. Only registered ECC RDIMMs are supported, and memory runs at up to 5200 MT/s. The spec sheet does not name the DIMM sizes.

How many GPUs does the XR7620 take?

Either up to four 75 W single-width full-height/half-length GPUs plus a 75 W low-profile card, or at most two double-width 350 W GPUs at full height and length. Dell does not name specific GPU models on the spec sheet.

How much storage does the XR7620 have?

At the front, either up to four 2.5-inch SAS, SATA or NVMe SSDs with a 61.44 TB maximum, or up to eight E3.S NVMe drives with a 51.2 TB maximum. The operating system can boot from a BOSS-N1 mirror of two M.2 NVMe SSDs or from an internal USB module.

How big is the XR7620?

Dell gives 86.8 mm of height and 482.6 mm of width for this 2U server. The Rear Accessed version is 448.8 mm from rack ear to rear wall, 471.8 mm deep without the bezel and 496.3 mm with it; the Front Accessed version is 572 mm deep with its bezel. It weighs up to 21.16 kg.

What power supplies are available for the XR7620?

Dell lists five hot-swap redundant supplies. For standard AC or 240 V HVDC feeds there are 1800 W Titanium, 1400 W Platinum and 1100 W Titanium units, and of those only the 1800 W is restricted to 200–240 V AC. The last two suit special feeds — −48 to −60 V DC (1100 W) and 277 V AC or 336 V DC (1400 W Titanium).

Is the XR7620 rugged enough for harsh sites?

Dell rates it for operation from −5°C to 55°C and has tested it to MIL 810H and NEBS Level 3 in limited configurations. An optional lockable bezel with a dust filter protects the front, with a dust sensor on Front Accessed systems.

How does the XR7620 differ from the XR5610?

The XR7620 is a 2U, two-socket server with 16 DIMM slots and up to 2 TB, up to eight E3.S drives and GPUs of up to 350 W double-width. The XR5610 is a 1U single-socket server with eight DIMM slots and 1 TB, four 2.5-inch bays and two 75 W single-width GPUs.

Is the Dell PowerEdge XR7620 end of life?

The June 2024 spec sheet is silent on end-of-sale and end-of-support dates for the XR7620. Once Dell publishes dates, we add them to our server end-of-life checker.

Sources & verification

Where these figures come from

Specifications are extracted from Dell’s published documents and independently re-checked line by line. Configurations are quote-based; availability and exact options are confirmed at quotation. Last reviewed 2026-09-11.

Get a quote for the Dell PowerEdge XR7620

Tell us the workload and we’ll spec and price it — or build it in the configurator first.

Business enquiries only — please use your company email. Gmail, Hotmail and other personal addresses are not accepted.

We only ship hardware to the countries in the dropdown. Software and maintenance services are global.

Enquiring about: Dell PowerEdge XR7620

Response within 4 business hours · No obligation

Quote for
Dell PowerEdge XR7620
0800 987 4111

Talk to a UK specialist

Get expert advice or a no-obligation quote — servers, storage, networking, maintenance, finance and cloud. We reply the same working day.

or call 0800 987 4111