The R670 is Dell’s 1U two-socket server for Intel Xeon 6, built around EDSFF E3.S flash and offered with its I/O at the back or the front of the rack. This page lays out everything Dell documents for it — 23 processors, DDR5-6400 memory rules, drive layouts and power options — plus the thermal limits that decide which of those options can run together in one rack unit.
1Left control panel: USB and Mini-DisplayPort (KVM module optional)
220 × EDSFF E3.S Gen5 NVMe bays
3Right control panel: power button, system ID, USB Type-C
Image: Dell Technologies
Form factor
1U Rack · 2 sockets
Processors
Xeon 6 E-core · Xeon 6 P-core
Memory
32 × DDR5 RDIMM · up to 8 TB
Drive bays
Up to 22 · 8 drive-bay layouts
Expansion
3 × PCIe · 2 × OCP 3.0
GPUs
Up to 3 · 1 listed
Boot
M.2 and BOSS · 3 boot options
Management
iDRAC10
01 — Overview
The R670 at a glance
Our read of Dell’s documentation: where the R670 is strong, and the limits worth knowing before you spec one.
Strengths
+Up to 144 E-cores per socket — 288 cores in one rack unit — or 86 P-cores where per-core speed matters, all from one list of 23 processors.
+EDSFF-first storage: 20 front and 2 rear E3.S Gen5 bays, with Dell quoting up to 1228.8 TB raw at the front.
+DDR5 rated at 6400 MT/s on every processor in the list, against 5600 MT/s on the R660 it follows.
+A front-I/O build moves networking, boot and management to the cold aisle, and blind-mate power rails let that version be serviced from the front.
+Two OCP 3.0 bays alongside three x16 Gen5 slots, with NVIDIA BlueField-3 DPUs as an option.
Watch-outs
!In 1U the hottest parts need liquid: the 350 W 6767P and 6787P require Direct Liquid Cooling with the 10 × 2.5-inch, 16 × E3.S and 20 × E3.S fronts, and the 330 W parts need it with 20 bays.
!No SAS drives, no hard disks and no 3.5-inch bays — Dell’s drive list is NVMe plus 2.5-inch SATA SSDs, and SATA stops at ten bays.
!Accelerators are capped at three single-width 75 W cards, so double-wide GPUs mean stepping up to the 2U R770.
!E-core processors accept only 32 GB and 64 GB DIMMs and 1 TB per socket, and Dell lists Windows Server for P-core processors only.
!The front-I/O version is 829.44 mm deep and cannot take a bezel, so check rack depth and door clearance before choosing it.
Processors23 SKUs
Cores / CPU8–144
DIMM slots32
Drive layouts8
Max bays22
GPUsup to 3
PSU options8 · to 1,800 W
02 — Processors
23 supported processors, mapped
Dell lists 23 Xeon 6 processors for the R670: six E-core 6700E parts from 64 to 144 cores, and seventeen P-core 6700P and 6500P parts from 8 to 86 cores, each charted below by core count against TDP. In a 1U chassis the front drive layout decides which of them can stay on air, so read the thermal notes alongside it.
Processor landscape — cores × TDP
23 SKUs · 2 families
Xeon 6 E-core 6Xeon 6 P-core 17Bubble size = L3 cache · hover a bubble for the full SKU
Processor explorer
filter · sort · compare
Processor
Cores / threads
Base
L3 cache
TDP
W / core
Memory
Intel Xeon 6 6780E
144 / 144
2.2 GHz
108 MB
330 W
2.3
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6766E
144 / 144
1.9 GHz
108 MB
250 W
1.7
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6756E
128 / 128
1.8 GHz
96 MB
225 W
1.8
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6746E
112 / 112
2 GHz
96 MB
250 W
2.2
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6740E
96 / 96
2.4 GHz
96 MB
250 W
2.6
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6787P
86 / 172
2 GHz
336 MB
350 W
4.1
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6710E
64 / 64
2.4 GHz
96 MB
205 W
3.2
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6767P
64 / 128
2.4 GHz
336 MB
350 W
5.5
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6760P
64 / 128
2.2 GHz
320 MB
330 W
5.2
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6747P
48 / 96
2.7 GHz
288 MB
330 W
6.9
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6740P
48 / 96
2.1 GHz
288 MB
270 W
5.6
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6736P
36 / 72
2 GHz
144 MB
205 W
5.7
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6737P
32 / 64
2.9 GHz
144 MB
270 W
8.4
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6730P
32 / 64
2.5 GHz
288 MB
250 W
7.8
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6530P
32 / 64
2.3 GHz
144 MB
225 W
7.0
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6527P
24 / 48
3 GHz
144 MB
255 W
10.6
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6520P
24 / 48
2.4 GHz
144 MB
210 W
8.8
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6724P
16 / 32
3.6 GHz
72 MB
210 W
13.1
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6517P
16 / 32
3.2 GHz
72 MB
190 W
11.9
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6515P
16 / 32
2.3 GHz
72 MB
150 W
9.4
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6505P
12 / 24
2.2 GHz
48 MB
150 W
12.5
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6714P
8 / 16
4 GHz
48 MB
165 W
20.6
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6507P
8 / 16
3.5 GHz
48 MB
150 W
18.8
DDR5-6400
E-core processors run one thread per core; the P-core parts run two.
All 23 rows show UPI at 24 GT/s and DDR5 at 6400 MT/s. Turbo appears only as the word “Turbo”, so no boost clocks are shown here.
Processors of 270 W and above take the L-type heat sink; anything below 270 W uses the 1U extended heat sink.
Mixing processor models is not supported, and every riser configuration in Dell’s table is a two-processor layout.
03 — Memory
32 DIMM slots, 16 per processor
Thirty-two DDR5 RDIMM slots, eight channels per processor with two DIMMs per channel. What fits depends on the core type: the 6700E parts take just two module sizes, 32 GB and 64 GB, and address 1 TB each, while P-core parts accept all six sizes, 16 GB through 256 GB, and address 4 TB each.
Capacity with every slot filled
by DIMM size
Operating speed
per Dell memory tables
Processor
1 DIMM / channel
2 DIMMs / channel
Xeon 6 P-core (6700P / 6500P)
6400 MT/s
5200 MT/s
Xeon 6 E-core (6700E)
6400 MT/s
5200 MT/s (64 GB only)
8 TB is 32 × 256 GB, which needs P-core processors and runs at 5200 MT/s. The largest build that keeps 6400 MT/s is 16 × 128 GB, one per channel — 2 TB.
An E-core R670 stops at 2 TB: the processor table gives 1 TB per E-core CPU, reached with sixteen 64 GB modules per socket.
CXL 2.0 expansion is P-core only. With all 32 slots holding 96 GB DIMMs (3072 GB), two add-in cards of 4 × 128 GB in riser configuration 3, 4 or 5 bring the system to 4096 GB; Dell marked this as unavailable at launch.
Every listed module is a 1.1 V part rated for 6400 MT/s, and Dell cautions that the processor can run them below that rating.
04 — Storage
8 drive-bay layouts, up to 22 bays
EDSFF E3.S is the R670’s native format: up to 20 Gen5 NVMe bays at the front and two more at the rear. The 2.5-inch options stop at eight SATA/NVMe or Universal bays, or ten SATA bays, and Dell’s drive list contains no SAS drives and no hard disks.
Headline layouts
front panel view
Front panel
20 × EDSFF NVMe at the front — 20 bays in total.
SAS/SATANVMeSAS/SATA + NVMe
Controllers & boot
PERC H965i Front DC-MHS — RAID. internal front PERC; cache size not stated in guide
PERC H365i Front DC-MHS — RAID. internal front PERC; cache size not stated in guide
PERC H975i Front DC-MHS — RAID. internal front PERC; ESXi support requires 9.0 or later; cache size not stated in guide
PERC H965e — RAID. external controller
HBA465e — HBA. external HBA
BOSS-N1 DC-MHS (HW RAID 1, 2 x M.2 NVMe SSD 480 GB or 960 GB) — boot
Raw ceilings from Dell’s comparison table: 1228.8 TB across 20 front E3.S bays, 122.88 TB in the two rear bays, and 38.4 TB in the ten-bay SATA front.
Internal RAID comes from front-mounted PERC H965i, H365i or H975i controllers, and there is no software RAID option. ESXi supports the H975i from version 9.0.
The boot device sits outside the data bays: a BOSS-N1 DC-MHS mirrors two M.2 NVMe SSDs (480 GB or 960 GB) in RAID 1, or an M.2 interposer board holds two M.2 NVMe SSDs.
Dell only factory-validates a Universal-backplane order that includes a SAS/SATA drive and an NVMe drive.
For external storage Dell lists two controllers, the PERC H965e and the HBA465e.
Every documented layout
8 with drive bays
2.5-inch3.5-inchEDSFF (E1.S / E3.S)
05 — Accelerators & I/O
GPUs, PCIe and networking
GPU support is deliberately modest: three single-width cards of up to 75 W. The NVIDIA L4 is the only GPU named in Dell’s thermal tables, and NVIDIA BlueField-3 B3220 and B3140H DPUs are listed as another use for the slots. Up to three single-width 75 W accelerators; the L4 is limited to 30°C inlet with the 20 × E3.S fronts, and with the 10 × 2.5-inch front once processors exceed 225 W.
NVIDIA L4
single-wide
up to 3
I/O topology
88 lanes per CPU
Each Xeon 6 processor brings 88 lanes of PCIe 5.0. The R670 exposes them as up to three x16 Gen5 slots and two OCP 3.0 bays, and the whole I/O set can face either the hot aisle or the cold aisle.
Network adapters Dell lists
14 options
Adapter
Ports
Form
Mellanox 2 x 25GbE QSFP56 OCP 3.0
2 × 25GbE
OCP 3.0
Broadcom 4 x 25GbE QSFP56 OCP 3.0
4 × 25GbE
OCP 3.0
Mellanox 2 x 100GbE QSFP56 OCP 3.0
2 × 100GbE
OCP 3.0
Broadcom 2 x 100GbE QSFP56 OCP 3.0
2 × 100GbE
OCP 3.0
Broadcom 2 x 100GbE QSFP56 OCP 3.0 (second listing)
2 × 100GbE
OCP 3.0
Broadcom 4 x 10GbE BT OCP 3.0
4 × 10GbE
OCP 3.0
Broadcom 2 x 10GbE BT OCP 3.0
2 × 10GbE
OCP 3.0
Broadcom 2 x 25GbE SFP28 OCP 3.0
2 × 25GbE
OCP 3.0
Broadcom 2 x 200GbE QSFP112 OCP 3.0
2 × 200GbE
OCP 3.0
Intel 2 x 10GbE BT OCP 3.0
2 × 10GbE
OCP 3.0
Intel 4 x 10GbE BT OCP 3.0
4 × 10GbE
OCP 3.0
Intel 4 x 1GbE BT OCP 3.0
4 × 1GbE
OCP 3.0
NVIDIA BlueField-3 B3220 DPU 2 x 200GbE
2 × 200GbE
PCIe
NVIDIA BlueField-3 B3140H DPU 1 x 400GbE
1 × 400GbE
PCIe
Front I/O puts the OCP cards, the BOSS module, a DB9 serial port and an iDRAC port at the cold-aisle side; while that front iDRAC port is connected, the rear one is switched off automatically.
The OCP bays are Gen5 small-form-factor slots for cards of 15 W to 35 W. In a rear-I/O build, running a card at x16 or at 100 GbE needs an additional OCP cable.
Front-I/O chassis cannot take a bezel, and Dell’s A28 Blind Mate Power Rails let them be powered and removed without reaching into the hot aisle.
Rear-I/O builds with network cards of 25 Gb or more must use DAC cabling or active optics rated to 85°C.
06 — Power & cooling
8 power supplies, 800–1,800 W
The R670 takes two hot-plug 60 mm supplies, run 1+1 redundant or as 1+0 / 2+0 without redundancy. Eight units are listed, and Dell marked two of them — an 1800 W high-line supply and a 1500 W 277 VAC / HVDC supply — as not available at the September 2025 launch.
AC277 VAC / HVDC
At low line (100–120 V) both 1100 W units and the 1500 W unit fall to 1050 W while the 800 W units keep their full rating; the 1800 W unit needs a 200–240 V AC or 240 V DC feed.
The −48 to −60 V DC supply is rated 1400 W and uses a Lotes RN5T2 connector; the 277 VAC / HVDC unit takes an APP / Saf-D-Grid cord, and the AC supplies use C13.
Peak ratings sit well above nameplate — Dell lists the 1500 W Titanium at 2325 W peak on high line — and it points to its Enterprise Infrastructure Planning Tool for sizing a configuration.
07 — Management, security & OS
Run it, secure it, choose the OS
Management
iDRAC10 (Core, Enterprise and Datacenter licences)
iDRAC Direct and the iDRAC RESTful API with Redfish
RACADM CLI and IPMI
iDRAC Service Module
Quick Sync 2 wireless module (optional left control panel)
OpenManage Enterprise with Update Manager, Services and Power Manager plugins
Data at Rest Encryption (SEDs, local or external key management)
System Lockdown (iDRAC10 Enterprise or Datacenter)
Secure Erase
TPM 2.0 FIPS, CC-TCG certified
Chassis intrusion detection
Operating systems
Canonical Ubuntu Server LTS
Microsoft Windows Server with Hyper-V (P-core processors only)
Red Hat Enterprise Linux
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server
VMware ESXi
Dell NativeEdge OS (post-launch)
08 — Compare
R660 → R670
Dell’s R670 guide sets the new server against the R660 it follows. Every cell below is taken from that side-by-side table, apart from the management line, which comes from the guide’s iDRAC chapter.
No BP · 8, 16 or 20 × E3.S · 8 × 2.5" SATA/NVMe or Universal · 10 × 2.5" SATA
Largest front capacity
204.8 TB (16 × E3.S)
1228.8 TB (20 × E3.S)
Rear bays
2 × 2.5" SAS4/SATA or 2 × E3.S
2 × E3.S NVMe
Internal RAID
PERC H965i, H755, H755N, H355, HBA355i · S160 software RAID
Front H965i, H365i, H975i · no software RAID
PCIe
Up to 3 slots: 2 × Gen5 or 3 × Gen4
Up to 3 × x16 Gen5
Networking
Optional 2 × 1GbE LOM and 1 × OCP 3.0
2 × OCP NIC 3.0, front or rear
Accelerators
Up to 3 × 75 W single-width
Up to 3 × 75 W single-width
Power
700–1800 W AC · 800 / 1100 W −48 V DC · 1400 W 277 VAC / 336 V HVDC
800–1500 W AC · 1400 W −48 V DC · 1800 W HLAC and 1500 W 277 VAC / HVDC post-launch
Depth
822.88 mm with bezel
816.92 mm with bezel (rear I/O) · 829.44 mm (front I/O)
Weight
22.51 kg
20.42 kg
Management
iDRAC with Lifecycle Controller
iDRAC10
Source: Dell PowerEdge R670 Technical Guide (May 2026, Rev. A07), Table 2 (R670 vs R660) and the Dell Systems Management chapter.
The R670 family side by side
The R670 shares its processor list and memory layout with the 2U R770, and Dell compares it directly with the R660. Alongside sit the single-socket Xeon 6 R470 and two AMD EPYC 9005 machines in 1U, the dual-socket R6725 and single-socket R6715. The bars compare the documented limits of each.
This modelSiblings and successorEach value from that model’s own verified spec file · bars scale per column
Five 1U builds chosen to sit inside the R670’s thermal rules. Every component is on this model’s configurator allow-list, and each build loads straight into the configurator for editing.
Cloud-native & microservices
288 E-cores in one rack unit
Two 144-core 6766E processors give 288 single-threaded cores for container and microservice fleets. E-core parts take only 32 GB or 64 GB modules and 1 TB per socket, so sixteen 64 GB DIMMs at one per channel is the natural fit. At 250 W they run on HPR Silver fans at 35°C with the 16-bay E3.S front.
2 × Xeon 6 6766E — 144 cores @ 1.9 GHz, 250 W each
16 × 64 GB DDR5-6400 RDIMM — 1 TB, one per channel
Thirty-two P-cores per socket with 288 MB of cache, and 2 TB of memory that stays at 6400 MT/s because the 128 GB modules sit one per channel. The 16-bay E3.S front keeps this 250 W processor at a 35°C inlet on air, where the 20-bay front would hold it to 30°C.
2 × Xeon 6 6730P — 32 cores @ 2.5 GHz, 250 W each
16 × 128 GB DDR5-6400 RDIMM — 2 TB at one DIMM per channel
A 3.6 GHz base clock on 16 cores per socket keeps per-core licence counts low, and as a P-core part it is eligible for Windows Server. Eight 2.5-inch NVMe drives hold the data set with a front PERC H975i fitted for hardware RAID, and a terabyte of DDR5 runs at one DIMM per channel.
2 × Xeon 6 6724P — 16 cores @ 3.6 GHz, 210 W each
16 × 64 GB DDR5-6400 RDIMM — 1 TB
8 × 3.84 TB NVMe Gen4 U.2 — 30.72 TB raw
PERC H975i front RAID controller
BOSS-N1 DC-MHS mirrored boot
Mellanox 2 × 25GbE QSFP56 OCP 3.0
2 × 1100 W Titanium (1+1)
Windows Server 2025
Dell sells the eight-bay 2.5-inch front as SATA/NVMe, Universal or NVMe RAID. For full factory validation a Universal backplane order must also include a SAS/SATA drive, so we confirm the backplane, drive mix and controller pairing when we quote.
Twenty E3.S Gen5 bays put up to 1228.8 TB in 1U by Dell’s figures, and the 225 W 6530P is one of the processors its table cools at 35°C with that front; hotter parts drop to 30°C or need liquid cooling. A 200GbE OCP card carries replication traffic.
2 × Xeon 6 6530P — 32 cores @ 2.3 GHz, 225 W each
16 × 32 GB DDR5-6400 RDIMM — 512 GB
20 × 15.36 TB E3.S Gen5 NVMe — 307.2 TB raw
BOSS-N1 DC-MHS mirrored boot
Broadcom 2 × 200GbE QSFP112 OCP 3.0
2 × 1500 W Titanium (1+1)
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9
Dell’s E3.S list goes up to 61.44 TB per drive for this front. Adding the two rear E3.S bays moves the build to riser configuration 10.
The R670’s accelerator ceiling is three single-width 75 W cards, and the L4 is the model Dell’s thermal table names. On the 16 × E3.S front that table allows the L4 a 35°C inlet, and the 205 W 6736P runs there on standard fans with the extended heat sink.
With the 20 × E3.S fronts the L4 is restricted to 30°C inlet. Riser choice decides which slots take full-height cards, so we confirm slot placement for three GPUs when we quote.
When Xeon 6, DDR5 and EDSFF flash are more than the job needs, these re-certified 1U PowerEdge models are the budget route to two sockets in a single rack unit.
14G · re-certified
PowerEdge R640
Two Xeon Scalable sockets
24 DIMMs · 3 TB DDR4 ceiling
10 × 2.5" / NVMe
iDRAC9 management
Scale-out web and container hosts that need two sockets and NVMe in 1U, but not 288 cores.
800 W Platinum or Titanium · 1100 W Platinum or Titanium · 1500 W Titanium · 1800 W HLAC Titanium (post-launch)
DC / HVDC
1400 W −48 to −60 V DC · 1500 W 277 VAC / 336 V DC (post-launch)
Ports & video
Front
USB 2.0 Type-C · optional USB 2.0 Type-A and Mini-DisplayPort · front I/O adds DB9 serial and an iDRAC port
Rear
Dedicated iDRAC Ethernet · VGA · 2 × USB 3.1
Internal
1 × USB 3.1 (device length limit 24.19 mm)
Video
Integrated Matrox G200, 16 MB
Environment & acoustics
Thermal design range
10–35°C, with extended ranges for some configurations
Maximum operating altitude
3050 m
Sound power
Quietest tested build 4.5 B idle · GPU volume build 8.5 B operating (25°C)
12 — FAQ
R670 questions, answered from the documentation
What is the maximum memory of the Dell PowerEdge R670?
Its 32 DDR5 RDIMM slots hold up to 8 TB when every one carries a 256 GB module. Those modules need P-core processors and run at 5200 MT/s because they sit two per channel. For the full 6400 MT/s the largest build is 16 × 128 GB, or 2 TB, and E-core processors stop at 1 TB each.
Which processors does the R670 support?
Twenty-three Intel Xeon 6 models. Six are 6700E E-core parts with 64 to 144 single-threaded cores at 205–330 W; seventeen are 6700P and 6500P P-core parts with 8 to 86 cores at 150–350 W. Both sockets must hold the same model.
How many drive bays does the R670 have?
Up to 22 hot-plug NVMe drives: 20 EDSFF E3.S Gen5 at the front and 2 at the rear. With 2.5-inch drives the choices are 8 SATA/NVMe or Universal bays, or 10 SATA bays. There are no 3.5-inch, SAS or hard-disk options.
How many GPUs can the R670 take?
Up to three single-width accelerators of 75 W each. The NVIDIA L4 is the GPU named in Dell’s thermal tables, rated for 35°C inlet in most layouts but 30°C with the 20-bay E3.S fronts, and on the ten-bay 2.5-inch front once processors exceed 225 W. For double-wide GPUs, Dell’s 2U R770 takes two at up to 450 W.
Can the R670 air-cool 350 W processors?
Only with the lighter fronts. Dell’s thermal matrix keeps the 350 W 6767P and 6787P on air with no backplane, the front-I/O 8 × E3.S or the 8 × 2.5-inch front, some of those at 30°C. With the 10 × 2.5-inch, 16 × E3.S or 20 × E3.S fronts they need Direct Liquid Cooling, which Dell says removes the thermal restrictions for every processor.
What is the difference between front I/O and rear I/O?
Rear I/O is the conventional layout, with networking cabled at the hot aisle. The front-I/O version moves the two OCP bays, the BOSS boot module, a serial port and an iDRAC port to the cold aisle; it cannot take a bezel and is 829.44 mm deep. Dell’s A28 blind-mate power rails pair with it so the server can be pulled without hot-aisle access.
What PCIe and networking does the R670 have?
Up to three x16 PCIe Gen5 slots at the rear, fed by 88 PCIe 5.0 lanes per processor, plus two OCP NIC 3.0 bays. Dell’s OCP card list runs from 4 × 1GbE to 2 × 200GbE, and BlueField-3 DPUs are an option. Unlike the R660, no LOM card is listed.
How big and heavy is the PowerEdge R670?
The chassis measures 42.8 mm in height and 482 mm in width. The rear-I/O build is 816.92 mm deep with a bezel (815.14 mm without), and the front-I/O build is 829.44 mm. Weight runs from 17.18 kg with no drives to 20.42 kg for a fully populated 8 × E3.S system.
How does the R670 differ from the R660?
It moves to Xeon 6, topping out at 144 E-cores or 86 P-cores per socket, and lifts memory speed from 5600 to 6400 MT/s. The R660’s 2.5-inch SAS layouts give way to up to 20 E3.S bays, PCIe becomes three x16 Gen5 slots, networking moves to two OCP bays and management to iDRAC10. Dell’s comparison also shows it 2.09 kg lighter.
Is the Dell PowerEdge R670 end of life?
No end-of-sale or end-of-support date is printed in Dell’s R670 guide (Rev. A07), which still flags the 1800 W and 277 VAC supplies, CXL memory and NativeEdge OS as later additions. Dell’s standard hardware warranties run one or three years depending on model, with ProSupport contracts extending cover. Our end-of-life checker records dates as Dell publishes them.
Specifications are extracted from Dell’s published documents and independently re-checked line by line. Configurations are quote-based; availability and exact options are confirmed at quotation. Last reviewed 2026-09-11.