The R770 is Dell’s 2U two-socket server for Intel Xeon 6 and the general-purpose partner to the 1U R670, with room for up to 40 E3.S or 24 × 2.5-inch drives, eight Gen5 slots, two 450 W GPUs and 3200 W supplies. This page sets out everything Dell documents for it, and the riser and cooling rules that decide which combinations are allowed.
1Left control panel (blank by default, KVM optional)
240 × EDSFF E3.S Gen5 NVMe bays
3Right control panel with power button and USB Type-C
Image: Dell Technologies
Form factor
2U Rack · 2 sockets
Processors
Xeon 6 E-core · Xeon 6 P-core
Memory
32 × DDR5 RDIMM · up to 8 TB
Drive bays
Up to 44 · 11 drive-bay layouts
Expansion
8 × PCIe · 2 × OCP 3.0
GPUs
Up to 6 · 6 listed
Boot
M.2 and BOSS · 3 boot options
Management
iDRAC10
01 — Overview
The R770 at a glance
Our read of Dell’s documentation: where the R770 is strong, and the limits worth knowing before you spec one.
Strengths
+Forty front E3.S Gen5 bays plus four at the rear; Dell puts the front alone at 2457.6 TB raw.
+Room for two double-wide GPUs at up to 450 W, H200 NVL and RTX Pro 6000 included, or six single-width L4s.
+In builds without GPUs, Dell’s air-cooling tables clear all 23 processors at 35°C inlet in every storage layout, 350 W parts included.
+Eight Gen5 slots (six at x16), two OCP 3.0 bays and a 3200 W Titanium supply for the heaviest configurations.
+A front-I/O version with B35 blind-mate power rails for racks serviced only from the cold aisle.
Watch-outs
!No 3.5-inch bays, no SAS and no hard disks: Dell’s drive list is E3.S NVMe, 2.5-inch NVMe and 2.5-inch SATA SSDs, where the R760 offered 12 × 3.5-inch.
!Double-wide GPUs need riser configuration 6-2 or 11-2 with HPR Platinum fans, and none are supported with the 40-bay E3.S front.
!H200 NVL and RTX Pro 6000 are power-capped to 450 W here and need Ubuntu 24.04.02 with kernel 6.11 or later, plus a minimum iDRAC version.
!Rear drive bays exist only in riser configuration 14, and a chassis uses front risers or rear risers — never both.
!Weight varies more than the headline figure suggests: Dell’s comparison gives 28.53 kg, but its weight table reaches 32.08 kg for 24 × 2.5-inch SATA builds.
Processors23 SKUs
Cores / CPU8–144
DIMM slots32
Drive layouts11
Max bays44
GPUsup to 6
PSU options11 · to 3,200 W
02 — Processors
23 supported processors, mapped
The R770 takes the same 23 Xeon 6 processors as the 1U R670 — six E-core and seventeen P-core models — but its 2U airflow changes the picture: in non-GPU builds Dell’s tables cool every one of them on air. The chart plots each by core count and TDP.
Processor landscape — cores × TDP
23 SKUs · 2 families
Xeon 6 E-core 6Xeon 6 P-core 17Bubble size = L3 cache · hover a bubble for the full SKU
Processor explorer
filter · sort · compare
Processor
Cores / threads
Base
L3 cache
TDP
W / core
Memory
Intel Xeon 6 6780E
144 / 144
2.2 GHz
108 MB
330 W
2.3
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6766E
144 / 144
1.9 GHz
108 MB
250 W
1.7
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6756E
128 / 128
1.8 GHz
96 MB
225 W
1.8
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6746E
112 / 112
2 GHz
96 MB
250 W
2.2
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6740E
96 / 96
2.4 GHz
96 MB
250 W
2.6
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6787P
86 / 172
2 GHz
336 MB
350 W
4.1
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6710E
64 / 64
2.4 GHz
96 MB
205 W
3.2
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6767P
64 / 128
2.4 GHz
336 MB
350 W
5.5
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6760P
64 / 128
2.2 GHz
320 MB
330 W
5.2
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6747P
48 / 96
2.7 GHz
288 MB
330 W
6.9
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6740P
48 / 96
2.1 GHz
288 MB
270 W
5.6
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6736P
36 / 72
2 GHz
144 MB
205 W
5.7
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6737P
32 / 64
2.9 GHz
144 MB
270 W
8.4
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6730P
32 / 64
2.5 GHz
288 MB
250 W
7.8
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6530P
32 / 64
2.3 GHz
144 MB
225 W
7.0
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6527P
24 / 48
3 GHz
144 MB
255 W
10.6
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6520P
24 / 48
2.4 GHz
144 MB
210 W
8.8
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6724P
16 / 32
3.6 GHz
72 MB
210 W
13.1
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6517P
16 / 32
3.2 GHz
72 MB
190 W
11.9
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6515P
16 / 32
2.3 GHz
72 MB
150 W
9.4
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6505P
12 / 24
2.2 GHz
48 MB
150 W
12.5
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6714P
8 / 16
4 GHz
48 MB
165 W
20.6
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6507P
8 / 16
3.5 GHz
48 MB
150 W
18.8
DDR5-6400
Without GPUs, processors use HPR Silver fans in most layouts and HPR Gold fans with the 16, 32 and 40 × E3.S fronts, all rated for a 35°C inlet.
Heat sinks follow TDP and GPU presence: without rear GPUs, a 1U standard heat sink below 200 W and a 2U extended one from 200 W; with a GPU shroud fitted, 1U extended up to 250 W and L-type above 250 W.
Direct Liquid Cooling is optional, and Dell states it imposes no thermal restrictions on any processor.
Dell’s processor tables record turbo only as a yes/no entry, and both sockets must carry the same model.
03 — Memory
32 DIMM slots, 16 per processor
Thirty-two DDR5 RDIMM slots in eight channels per socket, the same arrangement as the R670. Large modules carry a cooling cost here: Dell requires High-performance Gold fans whenever 128 GB or 256 GB DIMMs are fitted.
Capacity with every slot filled
by DIMM size
Operating speed
per Dell memory tables
Processor
1 DIMM / channel
2 DIMMs / channel
Xeon 6 P-core (6700P / 6500P)
6400 MT/s
5200 MT/s
Xeon 6 E-core (6700E)
6400 MT/s
5200 MT/s (64 GB only)
With CXL 2.0 cards in riser configuration 7, a P-core R770 filled with 32 × 96 GB reaches 4608 GB using four cards of 4 × 96 GB. With 32 × 128 GB and 128 GB cards the total is 6144 GB, which Dell listed as post-launch.
8 TB means 32 × 256 GB on P-core processors at 5200 MT/s. The 6700E parts are limited to 32 GB or 64 GB DIMMs and 1 TB per socket.
CXL needs every native slot filled, at least four DIMMs on each card and no more than two cards per processor.
All listed modules are rated at 6400 MT/s, though Dell notes the processor may run them more slowly.
04 — Storage
11 drive-bay layouts, up to 44 bays
Twelve internal layouts, from diskless to 40 E3.S Gen5 bays with four more at the rear. The 2.5-inch options top out at 24 SATA bays, or 16 SATA plus 8 NVMe, and the whole list is solid-state — there is no 3.5-inch cage and no hard-disk support.
Headline layouts
front panel view
Front panel
40 × EDSFF NVMe at the front — 40 bays in total.
SAS/SATANVMeSAS/SATA + NVMe
Controllers & boot
PERC H965i Front DC-MHS — RAID. internal front PERC; cache size not stated in guide
PERC H365i Front DC-MHS — RAID. internal front PERC; cache size not stated in guide
PERC H975i Front DC-MHS — RAID. internal front PERC; ESXi support requires 9.0 or later; cache size not stated in guide
PERC H965e — RAID. external controller
HBA465e — HBA. external HBA
BOSS-N1 DC-MHS (HW RAID 1, 2 x M.2 NVMe SSD 480 GB or 960 GB) — boot
Dell’s raw-capacity figures: 2457.6 TB for 40 × E3.S, 1966.08 TB for 32 × E3.S, 552.96 TB for 16 SATA plus 8 NVMe, and 245.76 TB for the four rear bays.
Rear E3.S bays need riser configuration 14, and Dell’s thermal tables pair them with an extra rear fan.
Front PERC H965i, H365i or H975i controllers provide RAID (ESXi needs 9.0 or later for the H975i); external shelves use the PERC H965e or HBA465e, and there is no software RAID.
The operating system can boot from a BOSS-N1 DC-MHS RAID 1 pair of M.2 NVMe drives, an M.2 interposer board or internal USB.
Every documented layout
11 with drive bays
2.5-inch3.5-inchEDSFF (E1.S / E3.S)
05 — Accelerators & I/O
GPUs, PCIe and networking
The R770 is the GPU-capable member of the pair. Dell’s support list has six NVIDIA cards: the single-width L4 and five double-wide parts — H100 NVL, L40S, A16, H200 NVL and RTX Pro 6000. Up to two double-wide cards at 450 W (the H200 NVL and RTX Pro 6000 are capped from 600 W), or up to six L4s in riser configuration 12.
NVIDIA L4
single-wide
up to 6 (2 with RC1/RC2/RC7, 4 with RC6/RC11, 6 with RC12)
NVIDIA H100 NVL
double-wide
up to 2
NVIDIA L40S
double-wide
up to 2
NVIDIA A16
double-wide
up to 2
NVIDIA H200 NVL
double-wide
up to 2
NVIDIA RTX Pro 6000
double-wide
up to 2
I/O topology
88 lanes per CPU
Each processor supplies 88 PCIe 5.0 lanes. Rear risers expose up to eight Gen5 slots, six of them x16; the front-I/O build uses front risers instead and moves both OCP bays to the cold aisle.
Network adapters Dell lists
14 options
Adapter
Ports
Form
Mellanox 2 x 25GbE QSFP56 OCP 3.0
2 × 25GbE
OCP 3.0
Broadcom 4 x 25GbE QSFP56 OCP 3.0
4 × 25GbE
OCP 3.0
Mellanox 2 x 100GbE QSFP56 OCP 3.0
2 × 100GbE
OCP 3.0
Broadcom 2 x 100GbE QSFP56 OCP 3.0
2 × 100GbE
OCP 3.0
Broadcom 4 x 1GbE BT OCP 3.0
4 × 1GbE
OCP 3.0
Broadcom 4 x 10GbE BT OCP 3.0
4 × 10GbE
OCP 3.0
Broadcom 2 x 10GbE BT OCP 3.0
2 × 10GbE
OCP 3.0
Broadcom 2 x 25GbE SFP28 OCP 3.0
2 × 25GbE
OCP 3.0
Broadcom 2 x 200GbE QSFP112 OCP 3.0
2 × 200GbE
OCP 3.0
Intel 2 x 10GbE BT OCP 3.0
2 × 10GbE
OCP 3.0
Intel 4 x 10GbE BT OCP 3.0
4 × 10GbE
OCP 3.0
Intel 4 x 1GbE BT OCP 3.0
4 × 1GbE
OCP 3.0
NVIDIA BlueField-3 B3220 DPU 2 x 200GbE
2 × 200GbE
PCIe DPU
NVIDIA BlueField-3 B3140H DPU 1 x 400GbE
1 × 400GbE
PCIe DPU
Riser configurations 6-2 and 11-2 are Dell’s GPU-ready layouts. BlueField-3 DPUs go in configurations 1, 2, 6-2 or 11-2 and need a full-length riser.
iDRAC shared-NIC redirection works only from the OCP card in slot 10 (rear I/O) or slot 38 (front I/O).
For rear-I/O cabling at 25 Gb and above, Dell calls for passive DAC or active optics with an 85°C rating.
The front-I/O chassis has no bezel option, and Dell pairs it with B35 blind-mate power rails.
06 — Power & cooling
11 power supplies, 800–3,200 W
Eleven supply options in two sizes: 60 mm units from 800 W to 1800 W, and 73.5 mm units at 2400 W and 3200 W. Two are fitted, 1+1 redundant or non-redundant 1+0 / 2+0, and Dell marked three of the eleven as arriving after the September 2025 launch.
AC277 VAC / HVDC
The 3200 W Titanium supply is high-line only: it delivers 2900 W at 200–220 V and 3200 W at 220.1–240 V, and it uses a C19 lead, as does the 2400 W unit.
Low-line (100–120 V) ratings drop to 1400 W for the 2400 W unit and to 1050 W for both the 1100 W and 1500 W units.
For 277 VAC / HVDC sites there are 3200 W and 1500 W Titanium units on APP / Saf-D-Grid cords; telco racks get a 1400 W −48 to −60 V DC supply.
H200 NVL and RTX Pro 6000 builds need slot-specific GPU power cables, which Dell identifies by part number for slots 2 and 7.
07 — Management, security & OS
Run it, secure it, choose the OS
Management
iDRAC10 (Core, Enterprise and Datacenter licences)
iDRAC Direct
iDRAC RESTful API with Redfish
RACADM CLI and IPMI
iDRAC Service Module
Quick Sync 2 wireless module (optional)
OpenManage Enterprise with Update Manager, Services and Power Manager plugins
8, 16, 32 or 40 × E3.S · 8 × 2.5" NVMe or Universal · 16 or 24 × 2.5" SATA · 16 SATA + 8 NVMe
Rear bays
2 or 4 × 2.5" SAS/SATA/NVMe · 4 × E3.S
4 × E3.S NVMe
Internal RAID
PERC H965i, H755i, H755N, H355, HBA355e · S160 software RAID
Front H965i, H365i, H975i · no software RAID
PCIe
Up to 8 × Gen4/Gen5
Up to 8 × Gen5, max 6 at x16
Networking
Optional 2 × 1GbE LOM · 1 × OCP NIC 3.0
2 × OCP NIC 3.0, front or rear
Power
700 W to 3200 W, incl. 2800 W Titanium · 1100 W −48 V DC
800 W to 3200 W · 1400 W −48 V DC · 3200 W 277 VAC / HVDC
Depth
772.13 mm with bezel
802.40 mm with bezel (rear I/O) · 814.52 mm (front I/O)
Weight
36.1 kg
28.53 kg
Management
iDRAC with Lifecycle Controller
iDRAC10
Source: Dell PowerEdge R770 Technical Guide (May 2026), Table 2 (comparison of PowerEdge R770 and R760).
The R770 family side by side
The R770 sits between the 1U R670, which shares its processor list, and the R770AP, which swaps in Xeon 6 6900-series processors. The single-socket R570, the R760 it follows, and the AMD EPYC 9005 R7725 and R7715 complete the comparison.
This modelSiblings and successorEach value from that model’s own verified spec file · bars scale per column
Five 2U builds matched to the riser, fan and thermal rules in Dell’s R770 guide. Every part is one the configurator allows on this model, and each build opens pre-loaded so you can change it.
AI inference
Two-GPU H200 NVL server
Two H200 NVL cards in the full-length GPU risers, fed by 32-core processors at a 2.9 GHz base. Dell’s P-core GPU table lists this pairing with the 16 × E3.S front at 35°C, and the build takes the largest supply Dell offers, the 3200 W Titanium.
2 × Xeon 6 6737P — 32 cores @ 2.9 GHz, 270 W each
2 × NVIDIA H200 NVL (double-wide, capped at 450 W)
16 × 64 GB DDR5-6400 RDIMM — 1 TB
8 × 7.68 TB E3.S Gen5 NVMe — 61.44 TB raw
BOSS-N1 DC-MHS boot pair (RAID 1)
Broadcom 2 × 200GbE QSFP112 OCP 3.0
2 × 3200 W Titanium (200–240 V)
Ubuntu Server 24.04 LTS
Requires riser configuration 6-2 or 11-2, HPR Platinum fans, iDRAC 1.20.60.55 or later and Ubuntu 24.04.02 with kernel 6.11+. Not supported with the 40 × E3.S front or the front-I/O 8 × E3.S layout.
Two NVIDIA A16 boards bring GPU acceleration to a desktop farm, and Dell’s GPU table rates them at 35°C with the 8 × 2.5-inch front. Two terabytes of DDR5 at two DIMMs per channel leave headroom for dense desktop pools.
2 × Xeon 6 6730P — 32 cores @ 2.5 GHz, 250 W each
2 × NVIDIA A16 (double-wide, 250 W)
32 × 64 GB DDR5 RDIMM — 2 TB at 5200 MT/s (two per channel)
6 × 3.84 TB NVMe Gen4 U.2 — 23.04 TB raw
BOSS-N1 DC-MHS boot pair (RAID 1)
Broadcom 4 × 25GbE QSFP56 OCP 3.0
2 × 3200 W Titanium
VMware vSphere ESXi 9.0
A16 cards need riser configuration 6-2 or 11-2, which runs HPR Platinum fans. Dell also sells the eight-bay front as SATA/NVMe; for a Universal backplane, its factory validation expects both a SAS/SATA and an NVMe drive in the order.
Two 64-core processors give 128 P-cores for Hyper-V, and 16 × 128 GB modules hold 2 TB at the full 6400 MT/s. Twenty-four 3.84 TB SATA SSDs fill the SATA front to Dell’s 92.16 TB raw figure behind a PERC H965i.
2 × Xeon 6 6760P — 64 cores @ 2.2 GHz, 330 W each
16 × 128 GB DDR5-6400 RDIMM — 2 TB, one per channel
24 × 3.84 TB SATA SSD — 92.16 TB raw
PERC H965i front RAID controller
BOSS-N1 DC-MHS boot pair (RAID 1)
Mellanox 2 × 100GbE QSFP56 OCP 3.0
2 × 1500 W Titanium (1+1)
Windows Server 2025 Datacenter
DIMMs of 128 GB and above call for High-performance Gold fans. Windows Server is supported with P-core processors only.
Forty E3.S Gen5 bays in 2U, cooled on HPR Gold fans at 35°C in Dell’s tables. A pair of 96-core, 250 W E-core processors supplies 192 threads for erasure-coded object and file services.
2 × Xeon 6 6740E — 96 cores @ 2.4 GHz, 250 W each
16 × 64 GB DDR5-6400 RDIMM — 1 TB
40 × 15.36 TB E3.S Gen5 NVMe — 614.4 TB raw
BOSS-N1 DC-MHS boot pair (RAID 1)
Broadcom 2 × 200GbE QSFP112 OCP 3.0
2 × 1500 W Titanium (1+1)
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9
Double-wide GPUs are not supported with the 40-bay front, and the four extra rear E3.S bays need riser configuration 14.
Forty-eight P-cores per socket at 2.7 GHz and 32 × 128 GB of DDR5 give a 4 TB footprint at 5200 MT/s. Eight NVMe drives behind the front PERC H975i hold logs and persistence, and Dell’s CXL option can take a similar build to 6144 GB.
2 × Xeon 6 6747P — 48 cores @ 2.7 GHz, 330 W each
32 × 128 GB DDR5 RDIMM — 4 TB at 5200 MT/s
8 × 7.68 TB NVMe Gen4 U.2 — 61.44 TB raw
PERC H975i front RAID controller
BOSS-N1 DC-MHS boot pair (RAID 1)
Mellanox 2 × 25GbE QSFP56 OCP 3.0
2 × 1500 W Titanium (1+1)
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 15
The 128 GB DIMMs call for HPR Gold fans. The CXL route needs riser configuration 7 and every DIMM slot filled, is not in the configurator, and its 6144 GB version was post-launch. A Universal backplane order also needs a SAS/SATA drive for full factory validation, so we confirm the eight-bay backplane when we quote.
If a 2U project needs neither Xeon 6, Gen5 nor 450 W GPUs, a re-certified 14G PowerEdge covers general virtualisation and capacity storage at a lower entry cost.
14G · re-certified
PowerEdge R740
2U · 2 × Xeon Scalable
24 DIMMs · up to 3 TB DDR4
16 × 2.5" or 8 × 3.5"
GPU-capable · iDRAC9
Mixed virtualisation hosts with room for a GPU, where a 3 TB DDR4 ceiling is enough.
Up to 2 × double-wide 450 W and 6 × single-width 75 W
Supported GPUs
NVIDIA L4 (up to 6) · H100 NVL, L40S, A16, H200 NVL, RTX Pro 6000 (up to 2)
Requirements
Double-wide: riser configuration 6-2 or 11-2 with HPR Platinum fans
Power
Supplies
Two hot-plug, 60 mm or 73.5 mm · 1+1 redundant, or 1+0 / 2+0
AC
800 W Platinum or Titanium · 1100 W Platinum or Titanium · 1500 W Titanium · 3200 W Titanium · 1800 W HLAC and 2400 W Titanium (post-launch)
DC / HVDC
1400 W −48 to −60 V DC · 3200 W 277 VAC / 336 V DC · 1500 W 277 VAC / 336 V DC (post-launch)
Ports & video
Front
USB 2.0 Type-C · optional USB 2.0 Type-A and Mini-DisplayPort · front I/O adds DB9 serial and an iDRAC port
Rear
Dedicated iDRAC Ethernet · VGA · 2 × USB 3.1
Internal
1 × USB 3.1 (device length limit 31.32 mm)
Video
Integrated Matrox G200, 16 MB
Environment & acoustics
Thermal design range
10–35°C, with extended ranges for some configurations
Sound power
Quietest tested build 4.7 B idle · GPU builds up to 9.2 B operating (25°C)
12 — FAQ
R770 questions, answered from the documentation
What is the maximum memory of the Dell PowerEdge R770?
Thirty-two DDR5 RDIMM slots take the R770 to 8 TB with 256 GB modules, which require P-core processors and run at 5200 MT/s. Keeping one DIMM per channel for 6400 MT/s limits a build to 16 modules, or 2 TB with 128 GB parts. Dell’s CXL option adds memory cards on top of 96 GB or 128 GB DIMMs for 4608 GB or 6144 GB.
Which GPUs does the R770 support?
Six NVIDIA models: up to six single-width L4s, or two double-wide H100 NVL, L40S, A16, H200 NVL or RTX Pro 6000 cards. The H200 NVL and RTX Pro 6000 are capped at 450 W in this server and need HPR Platinum fans, a minimum iDRAC version and Ubuntu 24.04.02 with kernel 6.11 or later.
How many drive bays does the R770 have?
Up to 44 E3.S Gen5 NVMe bays: 40 at the front and four at the rear with riser configuration 14. For 2.5-inch drives the maximum is 24 SATA bays, or 16 SATA plus 8 NVMe. There are no 3.5-inch bays.
How many PCIe slots does the R770 have?
Up to eight PCIe Gen5 slots, six of which can be x16, fed by 88 PCIe 5.0 lanes per processor. Dell documents eleven riser configurations, and a chassis uses either front or rear risers. The two OCP NIC 3.0 bays are in addition to that slot count.
Which processors does the R770 support?
The same 23 Xeon 6 processors as the R670: six 6700E E-core models with 64 to 144 cores and seventeen 6700P/6500P P-core models with 8 to 86 cores, from 150 W to 350 W. Without GPUs, Dell’s tables air-cool all of them at up to 35°C, and liquid cooling is optional.
What power supplies does the R770 use?
Eleven are listed: 800 W, 1100 W and 1500 W units, 1800 W high-line, 2400 W and 3200 W Titanium, 1400 W −48 V DC, and 1500 W or 3200 W units for 277 VAC / HVDC. The 3200 W supply gives 2900 W at 200–220 V and needs a C19 lead.
How big and heavy is the PowerEdge R770?
It is 86.8 mm high and 482 mm wide. Depth is 802.40 mm with the bezel in the rear-I/O build (801.51 mm without) and 814.52 mm for front I/O, which takes no bezel. Dell’s weight table runs from 25.89 kg to 32.08 kg fully populated, depending on the drive layout.
What changed from the R760 to the R770?
In Dell’s comparison the processors change from 4th/5th Gen Xeon Scalable, at up to 64 cores, to Xeon 6 at a maximum of 86 P-cores or 144 E-cores, and memory speed rises from 5600 to 6400 MT/s. Double-wide GPUs rise from 350 W to 450 W, all eight slots are Gen5, and the 3.5-inch and SAS layouts give way to up to 40 E3.S bays. The same table shows it 7.57 kg lighter.
How does the R770 differ from the R770AP?
The R770AP is built on the Xeon 6 6900-series — 128 P-cores and 500 W at the top — with twelve memory channels and 24 DIMM slots for 3 TB, 96 PCIe lanes per processor and NVMe-only storage, and it has no GPU support. The R770 keeps 32 slots and 8 TB, GPU options, SATA layouts and up to eight PCIe slots.
Is the Dell PowerEdge R770 end of life?
Dell’s R770 guide gives no model-wide end-of-sale or end-of-support date, and several options were still marked as post-launch in its May 2026 edition. Standard hardware warranties last one or three years depending on model, and ProSupport contracts extend them. Our end-of-life checker tracks dates once Dell publishes them.
Specifications are extracted from Dell’s published documents and independently re-checked line by line. Configurations are quote-based; availability and exact options are confirmed at quotation. Last reviewed 2026-09-11.