The PowerEdge R470 is a 1U rack server built around one Intel Xeon 6 processor — up to 144 E-cores or 86 P-cores — with 16 DDR5 RDIMM slots, up to 16 E3.S Gen5 NVMe bays and as many as four x16 Gen5 slots. Dell aims it at cloud-scale virtualisation, scale-out databases, edge, HPC and software-defined storage; this data sheet untangles the rules linking its riser layouts, processor types, memory sizes and storage fronts.
1U Rack1 socketXeon 6 E-coreXeon 6 P-coreiDRAC10
144cores in one socketXeon 6 E-core · or 86 P-cores
1Left control panel (optional USB and Mini-DisplayPort module)
22.5-inch drive bays
3Drive blank
4Right control panel: power, system ID, USB-C iDRAC Direct
5Express Service Tag
Image: Dell Technologies
Form factor
1U Rack · 1 socket
Processors
Xeon 6 E-core · Xeon 6 P-core
Memory
16 × DDR5 RDIMM · up to 4 TB
Drive bays
Up to 16 · 6 drive-bay layouts
Expansion
4 × PCIe · 2 × OCP 3.0
GPUs
Up to 4 · 1 listed
Boot
M.2 and BOSS · 3 boot options
Management
iDRAC10
01 — Overview
The R470 at a glance
Our read of Dell’s documentation: where the R470 is strong, and the limits worth knowing before you spec one.
Strengths
+Up to 144 E-cores or 86 P-cores from one socket in 1U, and every processor on Dell’s list is rated for 35°C ambient in each storage layout of its thermal tables.
+Sixteen EDSFF E3.S Gen5 bays in a single rack unit, listed at up to 983.04 TB raw, or ten 2.5-inch bays for SATA and NVMe drives.
+Four x16 PCIe Gen5 slots and room for four single-width 75 W accelerators, where the R660xs in Dell’s comparison has no GPU support.
+Front-I/O (cold-aisle) builds bring the OCP NICs, a serial port and the BMC port round to the front for cabling and service.
+Seven supply options, from 800 W Platinum up to 1500 W Titanium, including a 1400 W model for −48 to −60 V DC and a 1500 W model for 277 VAC or 336 VDC feeds.
Watch-outs
!One socket means 16 DIMM slots on eight channels, and E-core processors narrow the choice to 32 GB or 64 GB modules, which caps them at 1 TB.
!Riser layouts RC4, RC5 and RC7 take R1S processors only, and Dell’s thermal table lists the 16-bay E3.S front only with RC7.
!The 4 × 3.5-inch front is supported only together with the rear pair of E3.S drives, and rear drives need riser layout RC1 with an adapter PERC.
!No software RAID and no Tri-Mode controllers; on the universal backplane NVMe drives get no hardware RAID.
!Front-I/O builds take no bezel and are deeper: 829.44 mm against 815.14 mm for the rear-I/O chassis without bezel.
Processors23 SKUs
Cores / CPU8–144
DIMM slots16
Drive layouts6
Max bays16
GPUsup to 4
PSU options7 · to 1,500 W
02 — Processors
23 supported processors, mapped
Dell lists 23 processors for the R470: seven Xeon 6 E-core parts with 64 to 144 cores, and 16 P-core parts with 8 to 86 cores, six of them single-socket R1S versions. Each is plotted below by core count against TDP. With only one socket, the choice is between E-cores for thread density and P-cores for base clocks up to 3.6 GHz and a memory ceiling up to four times the E-core figure.
Processor landscape — cores × TDP
23 SKUs · 2 families
Xeon 6 E-core 7Xeon 6 P-core 16Bubble size = L3 cache · hover a bubble for the full SKU
Processor explorer
filter · sort · compare
Processor
Cores / threads
Base
L3 cache
TDP
W / core
Memory
Intel Xeon 6 6780E
144 / 144
2.2 GHz
108 MB
330 W
2.3
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6766E
144 / 144
1.9 GHz
108 MB
250 W
1.7
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6756E
128 / 128
1.8 GHz
96 MB
225 W
1.8
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6746E
112 / 112
2 GHz
96 MB
250 W
2.2
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6740E
96 / 96
2.4 GHz
96 MB
250 W
2.6
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6731E
96 / 96
2.2 GHz
96 MB
250 W
2.6
DDR5-5600
Intel Xeon 6 6787P
86 / 172
2 GHz
336 MB
350 W
4.1
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6781P (R1S)
80 / 160
2 GHz
336 MB
350 W
4.4
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6710E
64 / 64
2.4 GHz
96 MB
205 W
3.2
DDR5-5600
Intel Xeon 6 6767P
64 / 128
2.4 GHz
336 MB
350 W
5.5
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6761P (R1S)
64 / 128
2.5 GHz
336 MB
350 W
5.5
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6747P
48 / 96
2.7 GHz
288 MB
330 W
6.9
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6741P (R1S)
48 / 96
2.5 GHz
288 MB
300 W
6.3
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6737P
32 / 64
2.9 GHz
144 MB
270 W
8.4
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6730P
32 / 64
2.5 GHz
288 MB
250 W
7.8
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6731P (R1S)
32 / 64
2.5 GHz
144 MB
245 W
7.7
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6527P
24 / 48
3 GHz
144 MB
255 W
10.6
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6521P (R1S)
24 / 48
2.6 GHz
144 MB
225 W
9.4
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6724P
16 / 32
3.6 GHz
72 MB
210 W
13.1
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6517P
16 / 32
3.2 GHz
72 MB
190 W
11.9
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6511P (R1S)
16 / 32
2.5 GHz
72 MB
150 W
9.4
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6505P
12 / 24
2.2 GHz
48 MB
150 W
12.5
DDR5-6400
Intel Xeon 6 6507P
8 / 16
3.5 GHz
48 MB
150 W
18.8
DDR5-6400
Dell’s summary ties the 86-core figure to the R1S option, but its processor table shows the 86-core 6787P as a standard part; the biggest R1S processor is the 80-core 6781P.
R1S parts supply up to 136 PCIe 5.0 lanes where standard parts have 88. The processor table lists their memory capacity at 2 TB rather than 4 TB, while the spec sheet’s 4 TB line names P-core processors with the R1S option.
Up to 250 W the processor uses the extended heat sink; above that it moves to a remote heat sink, and parts of 255 W or more need High-performance Silver fans in every layout.
The turbo column reads only “Turbo”, so no boost clocks are shown on this page.
03 — Memory
16 DDR5 DIMM slots
Sixteen DDR5 RDIMM slots across eight channels, at up to two DIMMs per channel. Which modules fit depends on the processor: Dell’s matrix gives E-core parts only the 32 GB and 64 GB sizes, whereas P-core parts can use all six sizes, 16 GB through 256 GB.
Capacity with every slot filled
by DIMM size
Operating speed
per Dell memory tables
Processor
1 DIMM / channel
2 DIMMs / channel
Xeon 6 E-core (32 / 64 GB only)
6400 MT/s
5200 MT/s (64 GB)
Xeon 6 P-core
6400 MT/s
5200 MT/s
4 TB is 16 × 256 GB, a module Dell supports only at two DIMMs per channel (5200 MT/s) on P-core processors. For R1S parts the documents differ: the processor table lists 2 TB, while the spec sheet gives 4 TB for P-core processors with the R1S option. E-core parts stop at 1 TB, which is 16 × 64 GB.
On E-core processors the 32 GB module is listed for one DIMM per channel only, so filling all 16 slots means 64 GB DIMMs.
The 6731E and 6710E are rated for 5600 MT/s memory; Dell’s table gives the other 21 processors 6400 MT/s.
Every module is 1.1 V registered ECC; the 256 GB DIMM is eight-rank and the smaller sizes single- or dual-rank.
04 — Storage
6 drive-bay layouts, up to 16 bays
Five front configurations plus a no-backplane chassis. The E3.S fronts give the most flash per rack unit, the 3.5-inch front only comes packaged with two rear E3.S bays, and each storage choice brings a riser layout that limits which processors and controllers you can fit.
Headline layouts
front panel view
Front panel
Sixteen EDSFF E3.S Gen5 NVMe bays, up to 983.04 TB raw. Dell’s thermal table pairs this front with riser layout RC7 alone, and its riser notes restrict RC7 to R1S processors — although the same table gives fan settings for every processor in this column.
SAS/SATANVMeSAS/SATA + NVMe
Controllers & boot
PERC H965i DC-MHS Front — RAID. PERC 12 front controller; cache size not stated in guide
PERC H365i DC-MHS Front — RAID. PERC 12 front controller; cache size not stated in guide
PERC H365i adapter — RAID. PCIe adapter; riser config 1 (R2u + R4a) supports adapter PERC
M.2 interposer with up to 2 x M.2 NVMe SSDs — boot
Internal USB — boot
The 4 × 3.5-inch SATA front (up to 128 TB) is not supported on its own. It comes with two rear E3.S Gen5 bays (up to 122.88 TB), which need riser layout RC1 and an adapter PERC — the only R470 riser layout with rear storage.
Controllers are PERC 12 in Dell’s DC-MHS form: the H965i or H365i as a front PERC or as an adapter, plus the external H965e and HBA465e. There is no software RAID option.
On the universal backplane SATA drives get hardware RAID, but NVMe drives are direct-attached with no hardware RAID, and no controller mixes SAS, SATA and NVMe.
Boot sits outside the front bays: BOSS-N1 DC-MHS mirrors two 480 GB or 960 GB M.2 NVMe SSDs, or an M.2 interposer carries up to two M.2 NVMe drives.
Dell’s drive table stops at 3.84 TB for 2.5-inch SATA SSDs, 61.44 TB for 2.5-inch enterprise NVMe, 32 TB for 3.5-inch 7.2K SATA drives and 61.44 TB for E3.S Gen5 NVMe.
Every documented layout
6 with drive bays
2.5-inch3.5-inchEDSFF (E1.S / E3.S)
05 — Accelerators & I/O
GPUs, PCIe and networking
Single-width cards only. Dell rates the R470 for up to four 75 W accelerators and names the NVIDIA L4, which appears in its tested configurations. The thermal table for GPU builds carries the same 35°C limits as the non-GPU table for every processor. Up to four single-width 75 W cards; Dell’s tested GPU configurations each carry two NVIDIA L4s.
NVIDIA L4
single-wide
up to 4
I/O topology
88 lanes per CPU
A standard Xeon 6 processor supplies 88 lanes of PCIe 5.0 and an R1S part up to 136. The R470 turns them into as many as four x16 Gen5 slots, two OCP NIC 3.0 bays and the NVMe backplanes, across nine documented riser layouts from RC0 (no riser) to RC8, all single-processor.
Network adapters Dell lists
16 options
Adapter
Ports
Form
NVIDIA 2 x 100GbE QSFP56 OCP 3.0
2 × 100GbE
OCP 3.0
Broadcom 2 x 100GbE QSFP56 OCP 3.0
2 × 100GbE
OCP 3.0
Broadcom 4 x 25GbE SFP28 OCP 3.0
4 × 25GbE
OCP 3.0
NVIDIA 2 x 25GbE SFP28 OCP 3.0
2 × 25GbE
OCP 3.0
Broadcom 2 x 100GbE QSFP56 OCP 3.0 (second listing)
Risers RC4, RC5 and RC7 accept only R1S processors; RC0 to RC3, RC6 and RC8 take R1S or standard parts, subject to the storage layout.
The technical guide puts two OCP slots at the front in front-I/O builds and one at the rear in rear-I/O builds; Dell’s spec sheet lists two slots in either position.
OCP 3.0 runs at Gen5 with up to x16 lanes, and only the card in slot 10 (rear I/O) can share its port with iDRAC.
The spec sheet lists slot 1 both as an x8 low-profile slot and as an x16 full-height, half-length slot on a rear riser, and slots 4, 31 and 32 as x16 full-height, half-length.
With the front iDRAC port connected, the rear port switches off automatically.
06 — Power & cooling
7 power supplies, 800–1,500 W
Two hot-swap M-CRPS 60 mm supplies in 1+1 redundancy. As well as mixed-mode AC units of 800, 1100 and 1500 W, Dell offers a 277 VAC / 336 VDC version of the 1500 W unit and a 1400 W unit for −48 to −60 V DC.
AC277 VAC / HVDC
On 100–120 V the 800 W units keep their full rating, but the 1100 W and 1500 W mixed-mode supplies fall to 1050 W; the 277 V unit has no low-line rating.
Mixed-mode supplies use C13 leads; the −48 V DC unit takes a LOTES APOWA048 cable and the 277 V unit an APP2006G1 or 2006G3 cable.
High-line peak power is 1240 W for the 800 W units, 1705 W for 1100 W and 2325 W for 1500 W.
Mismatched pairs are not load-shared: at POST only the higher-wattage supply is enabled, with a warning, and a second supply added while running stays off unless it matches the first.
07 — Management, security & OS
Run it, secure it, choose the OS
Management
iDRAC10 Core, with Enterprise and Datacenter licence upgrades
iDRAC Direct through the front USB-C port
iDRAC RESTful API with Redfish
RACADM CLI and iDRAC Service Module
OpenManage Enterprise with Power Manager, Services and Update Manager
OME APEX AIOps Observability
Integrations for VMware vCenter, Microsoft System Center and Windows Admin Center
Optional Quick Sync 2.0 module on the left control panel
Data at Rest Encryption (SEDs, local or external key management)
System Lockdown
Secure Erase
TPM 2.0 FIPS, CC-TCG certified
Chassis Intrusion Detection
Operating systems
Canonical Ubuntu Server LTS
Microsoft Windows Server with Hyper-V
Red Hat Enterprise Linux
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server
VMware ESXi
08 — Compare
R660xs → R470
The R470 beside the R660xs, the 1U server Dell sets it against in the R470 guide. Every cell comes from that comparison table, apart from the R470’s management controller, which the guide’s systems-management chapter names.
8 or 16 × E3.S Gen5 · 8 or 10 × 2.5" · 4 × 3.5" (with rear E3.S)
Rear bays
Up to 2 × 2.5" SAS/SATA/NVMe
2 × E3.S Gen5 NVMe
Software RAID
S160
None
Networking
2 × 1 GbE embedded · 1 × OCP 3.0 (x8)
Up to 2 × OCP NIC 3.0 (2 front or 1 rear)
PCIe
2 × Gen5 or 3 × Gen4
Up to 4 × x16 Gen5
Power
600–1800 W AC · 1100 W −48 V DC · 1400 W 277 VAC
800–1500 W AC · 1400 W −48 V DC · 1500 W 277 VAC
Depth
748.79 mm
815.14 mm without bezel · 829.44 mm front I/O
Weight
19.45 kg
19.11 kg
Management
iDRAC9
iDRAC10
Source: Dell PowerEdge R470 Technical Guide (December 2025, Rev. A07), Table 2 (R470 vs R660xs); R470 iDRAC10 from the guide’s systems-management chapter.
The R470 family side by side
Sibling and neighbour models: the 2U R570 carries the same 23 single-socket Xeon 6 processors; the R660xs is the 1U machine in Dell’s comparison table; the R670 is the two-socket Xeon 6 1U; the R6715 and R6615 are one-socket AMD EPYC 1U servers; and the R360 is Dell’s entry 1U. Their documented limits sit side by side in the bars.
This modelSiblings and successorEach value from that model’s own verified spec file · bars scale per column
Four one-socket 1U builds that respect the riser, memory and cooling rules in Dell’s R470 guide, drawn only from parts our configurator accepts for this model; open any of them to adjust it.
Cloud-scale compute
144 E-cores in one rack unit
For container and microservice fleets that scale on thread count, the 6780E puts 144 cores in 1U. E-core processors take only 32 GB or 64 GB DIMMs, so all 16 slots carry 64 GB modules for the E-core ceiling of 1 TB. At 330 W the processor needs the remote heat sink and High-performance Silver fans, and Dell still rates it for 35°C ambient.
1 × Xeon 6 6780E — 144 cores @ 2.2 GHz, 330 W
16 × 64 GB DDR5-6400 RDIMM — 1 TB (5200 MT/s at two DIMMs per channel)
4 × 3.84 TB E3.S Gen5 NVMe — 15.36 TB raw
BOSS-N1 DC-MHS boot mirror (2 × M.2 NVMe, RAID 1)
Broadcom 2 × 100GbE QSFP56 OCP 3.0
2 × 1100 W Titanium (1+1)
Ubuntu Server 24.04 LTS
ProSupport, 3 years
The 6780E is a standard (non-R1S) part, so the eight-bay E3.S front pairs with riser layouts RC2, RC3 or RC6 rather than RC4, RC5 or RC7.
Per-core database licences favour fewer, faster cores, and the 16-core 6724P has the highest base clock on Dell’s R470 list at 3.6 GHz. Eight 64 GB DIMMs keep one module per channel at 6400 MT/s. The eight NVMe drives on the universal backplane are direct-attached — Dell gives NVMe no hardware RAID there — so protect them in the database or the operating system.
1 × Xeon 6 6724P — 16 cores @ 3.6 GHz, 210 W
8 × 64 GB DDR5-6400 RDIMM — 512 GB, one DIMM per channel
Sixteen 15.36 TB E3.S Gen5 drives put 245.76 TB of raw flash in 1U for a software-defined storage cluster. Dell lists this front only with riser layout RC7, which accepts R1S processors alone, so the build uses the 32-core 6731P. Dell’s processor table lists R1S parts at 2 TB of memory; eight 128 GB DIMMs give 1 TB at 6400 MT/s.
Dell labels its 16-bay E3.S front view as a front-I/O build, and front-I/O chassis take no bezel. RC7 excludes E-core and standard P-core processors, so confirm the riser layout with Dell before ordering.
This follows the GPU-based configuration Dell used for its R470 acoustic tests: a 300 W processor, 16 × 32 GB of memory, eight 2.5-inch NVMe drives on the universal backplane, two NVIDIA L4 cards, one dual-port 100 GbE OCP card and a pair of 1100 W supplies. The 6741P is the only 300 W part on the list, and it is an R1S processor.
16 × 32 GB DDR5-6400 RDIMM — 512 GB (5200 MT/s at two per channel)
8 × 3.84 TB NVMe Gen4 U.2 — 30.72 TB raw
BOSS-N1 DC-MHS boot mirror (2 × M.2 NVMe, RAID 1)
Intel 2 × 100GbE QSFP56 OCP 3.0
2 × 1100 W Titanium (1+1)
Ubuntu Server 24.04 LTS
ProSupport, 3 years
Dell rates the R470 for up to four single-width 75 W accelerators, but its tested GPU builds use two, and the guide names no GPU other than the L4. Those GPU builds measured 59 dB idle and 69 dB operating at 25°C.
Where a single Xeon 6 socket, DDR5 memory and E3.S flash are more than the job needs, an earlier refurbished 1U PowerEdge — one of them a single-socket AMD design — can cover lighter virtualisation, web and infrastructure work for less.
14G · re-certified
PowerEdge R6415
1U · 1 × AMD EPYC 7001
Up to 32 cores · 128 PCIe lanes
16 DIMM slots · up to 2 TB DDR4
10 × 2.5" or 4 × 3.5" bays
iDRAC9
The nearest refurbished match to the R470’s one-socket idea: a single AMD processor with a large lane count, for consolidation and scale-out nodes that can do without Gen5 and DDR5.
42.8 × 482 × 816.92 mm with bezel · 815.14 mm without (rear I/O) · 829.44 mm front-I/O build (no bezel)
Weight
Up to 19.11 kg (8 × E3.S, all drives fitted) · 17.03 kg with 8 × 2.5-inch SATA
Cooling
Air · up to four hot-swap dual-fan modules, Standard or High-performance Silver · N+1 fan redundancy
Heat sinks
Extended (up to 250 W) or remote (above 250 W)
I/O orientation
Rear I/O (hot aisle) or front I/O (cold aisle)
Rails
Sliding: B21 ReadyRails or B22 Stab-in/Drop-in, 4-post racks, optional CMA or strain relief bar · static: B20 (no CMA or SRB); 2-post racks need B4 ReadyRails II static rails
Processor
Sockets
One
Families
Intel Xeon 6 E-core and P-core, including six single-socket R1S parts
Cores
64–144 (E-core) · 8–86 (P-core)
TDP
150–350 W
PCIe lanes
88 × PCIe 5.0 (standard) · up to 136 (R1S)
Socket
Intel socket E2 (4710-2 pins)
Memory
Slots
16 DDR5 RDIMM · 8 channels, 2 DIMMs per channel
DIMM sizes
16, 32, 64, 96, 128 and 256 GB (E-core: 32 and 64 GB only)
Speed
6400 MT/s at 1 DPC · 5200 MT/s at 2 DPC
Maximum
4 TB P-core (16 × 256 GB) · R1S: 2 TB in the processor table, 4 TB on the spec sheet · 1 TB E-core
Voltage
1.1 V
Storage
Front
8 or 16 × E3.S Gen5 NVMe · 8 or 10 × 2.5" SATA/NVMe · 4 × 3.5" SATA (with rear E3.S only) · no backplane
Rear
2 × E3.S Gen5 NVMe (riser layout RC1)
Controllers
PERC H965i and H365i (front or adapter) · H965e and HBA465e external · no software RAID
Boot
BOSS-N1 DC-MHS (RAID 1, 2 × M.2 NVMe, 480 or 960 GB) · M.2 interposer · internal USB
External
USB tape, NAS software stack, 12 Gb MD-series JBODs
Expansion & networking
PCIe
Up to 4 × x16 Gen5 slots · 9 riser layouts (RC0–RC8)
OCP
Up to 2 × OCP NIC 3.0 (Gen5, up to x16): 1, 10, 25 and 100 GbE cards
800 W and 1100 W Platinum or Titanium · 1500 W Titanium (100–240 VAC or 240 VDC)
277 VAC / HVDC
1500 W Titanium, 277 VAC or 336 VDC
DC input
1400 W Titanium, −48 to −60 V DC
Ports & video
Front
USB 2.0 Type-C (host / iDRAC Direct) · optional USB 2.0 Type-A and Mini DisplayPort · DB9 serial and BMC port on front-I/O builds
Rear
Dedicated BMC Ethernet · 2 × USB 3.1 Type-A · VGA
Internal
1 × USB 3.1 Type-A
Video
Integrated Matrox G200, 16 MB · up to 1920 × 1200 at 60 Hz
Environment & acoustics
ASHRAE A2
10–35°C up to 900 m, de-rated 1°C per 300 m above
ASHRAE A3
5–40°C, de-rated 1°C per 175 m above 900 m
ASHRAE A4
5–45°C, de-rated 1°C per 125 m above 900 m
Operating altitude
Up to 3,048 m
Acoustics (25°C)
42 dB idle and operating (quietest build) · up to 59 dB idle / 69 dB operating (GPU builds)
12 — FAQ
R470 questions, answered from the documentation
What is the maximum memory of the Dell PowerEdge R470?
The R470 has 16 DDR5 RDIMM slots on eight channels and reaches 4 TB with 16 × 256 GB modules on a Xeon 6 P-core processor, running at 5200 MT/s. For R1S parts Dell’s processor table prints 2 TB while the spec sheet gives 4 TB. E-core processors stop at 1 TB, which is sixteen 64 GB DIMMs, the largest size they accept.
Which processors does the R470 support?
Twenty-three single-socket Xeon 6 parts: seven E-core models with 64 to 144 cores and 16 P-core models with 8 to 86 cores, six of them R1S versions. TDP runs from 150 W to 350 W. There is no second socket.
What is an R1S processor, and do I need one in the R470?
R1S processors are P-core parts for one-socket servers that supply up to 136 PCIe 5.0 lanes instead of 88. On the R470 they are mandatory for riser layouts RC4, RC5 and RC7, and Dell lists the 16-bay E3.S front only with RC7. In Dell’s processor table they top out at 80 cores and are listed at 2 TB of memory, although the spec sheet gives P-core processors with the R1S option 4 TB.
How many drive bays does the R470 have?
Sixteen at most, all EDSFF E3.S Gen5 NVMe, across the front of the chassis. The other fronts hold eight E3.S drives, eight or ten 2.5-inch SATA/NVMe drives, or four 3.5-inch SATA drives that Dell supports only alongside two rear E3.S bays. A no-backplane chassis is also listed.
How many GPUs can the R470 take?
Up to four single-width 75 W accelerators, and the NVIDIA L4 is the card Dell names. There is no double-width option in this 1U chassis; the 2U R570 takes up to three 400 W double-width cards.
What is the difference between front I/O and rear I/O on the R470?
Dell builds the R470 both ways. The front-I/O (cold-aisle) version moves the OCP NICs, a DB9 serial port and a dedicated BMC port to the front, but it takes no bezel and is 829.44 mm deep. The rear-I/O version is 815.14 mm deep without a bezel.
Which power supplies does the R470 use?
Two hot-swap supplies in 1+1, chosen from 800 W or 1100 W mixed-mode AC units in Platinum or Titanium, a 1500 W Titanium mixed-mode unit, its 277 VAC / 336 VDC counterpart, and a DC-input model rated 1400 W at −48 to −60 V. On low-line 100–120 V power, the 1100 W and 1500 W mixed-mode models are limited to 1050 W each.
How big and heavy is the PowerEdge R470?
The chassis is a standard 1U height of 42.8 mm and 482 mm across, and the rear-I/O version measures 815.14 mm deep without a bezel or 816.92 mm with one. The heaviest build Dell lists, eight E3.S drives, weighs up to 19.11 kg; the eight-bay 2.5-inch SATA build is 17.03 kg.
How does the R470 compare with the R570 and the R660xs?
The R570 is the 2U single-socket Xeon 6 server, with the same 23 processors and 16 DIMM slots as the R470 but up to 32 E3.S bays and double-width GPUs. Against the two-socket R660xs in Dell’s table, the R470 gives up a socket but gains higher core counts, 6400 MT/s memory, Gen5 E3.S storage and GPU support.
Is the Dell PowerEdge R470 end of life?
The December 2025 revision (A07) of Dell’s R470 technical guide carries no end-of-sale or end-of-service date. Its services appendix does describe Post Standard Support, a service that adds as many as five years of hardware cover once ProSupport’s initial seven-year term has run. For current status, check our end-of-life checker.
Specifications are extracted from Dell’s published documents and independently re-checked line by line. Configurations are quote-based; availability and exact options are confirmed at quotation. Last reviewed 2026-09-11.