The R7625 is Dell’s two-socket 2U server for 4th Generation AMD EPYC 9004 processors: up to 256 cores and 24 DDR5 slots, with room for 36 E3.S drives, eight PCIe slots and supplies up to 3200 W. This page maps everything Dell’s guide documents, including the thermal rules that make memory size, GPUs and processor power depend on the front you choose.
2U Rack1 or 2 socketsAMD EPYC 9004iDRAC9
256cores per servertwo 9754s · 128 cores each
6TBDDR5 maximum24 × 256 GB · front-dependent
36drive bays32 × E3.S front + 4 rear
2double-wide GPUs300 W each · or 6 × 75 W single-wide
Our read of Dell’s documentation: where the R7625 is strong, and the limits worth knowing before you spec one.
Strengths
+Two sockets and 24 DDR5 slots in 2U, for up to 256 cores and 6 TB — twice the memory of the one-socket R7615 in the same chassis height.
+Thirty-six E3.S Gen5 bays (32 front, 4 rear), 28 × 2.5-inch, or 24 U.2 Gen5 drives on a switched backplane.
+Ten supply options, one more than the R7615: AC units from 800 W Platinum to 2800 W Titanium, plus 1400 W and 3200 W models for 277 V AC or 336 V DC.
+Seven GPU models in Dell’s thermal tables — NVIDIA A2, A16, A30, A40, A100 and H100, and AMD Instinct MI210 — within a two double-wide or six single-wide envelope.
+Sixteen documented riser configurations, from none to eight slots, including paddle-card layouts for U.2 and E3.S backplanes.
Watch-outs
!Memory size depends on the front: on air, 128 GB RDIMMs are rated only for the diskless and 8 × 2.5-inch U.2 fronts, and 256 GB adds the 16-bay SmartFlow fronts at 30°C. The 24 × 2.5-inch SAS, 16 + 8, 8 × 3.5-inch and 12 × 3.5-inch fronts stop at 96 GB modules, or 2,304 GB.
!The 12 × 3.5-inch front needs liquid cooling for every 400 W-class processor and holds the 300 W class to 30°C.
!Two double-wide 300 W GPUs at most, one fewer than both the R7615 and the previous-generation R7525, and none with a 12 × 3.5-inch front or a rear drive module.
!Dell’s thermal tables have no columns for the E3.S or 24 × U.2 fronts, so the guide gives no processor, memory or GPU ratings for those layouts.
!The 1800 W, 2800 W and 3200 W supplies have no low-line rating, and the 3200 W unit runs only from 277 V AC or 336 V DC.
Processors19 SKUs
Cores / CPU16–128
DIMM slots24
Drive layouts23
Max bays36
GPUsup to 6
PSU options10 · to 3,200 W
02 — Processors
19 supported processors, mapped
Dell’s table lists 19 EPYC 9004 processors for the R7625 — the same set as the 1U R6625, without the P-suffix parts the one-socket R7615 adds — from 16 to 128 cores and 200 W to 400 W default TDP. The chart uses default TDP; with air cooling, the front decides how far up that list a build can go.
Processor landscape — cores × TDP
19 SKUs · 1 family
AMD EPYC 9004 19Bubble size = L3 cache · hover a bubble for the full SKU
Processor explorer
filter · sort · compare
Processor
Cores / threads
Base
L3 cache
TDP
W / core
Memory
AMD EPYC 9754
128 / 256
2.25 GHz
256 MB
360 W
2.8
DDR5-4800
AMD EPYC 9734
112 / 224
2.2 GHz
256 MB
340 W
3.0
DDR5-4800
AMD EPYC 9684X
96 / 192
2.2 GHz
1152 MB
400 W
4.2
DDR5-4800
AMD EPYC 9654
96 / 192
2.4 GHz
384 MB
360 W
3.8
DDR5-4800
AMD EPYC 9634
84 / 168
2.25 GHz
384 MB
290 W
3.5
DDR5-4800
AMD EPYC 9554
64 / 128
3.1 GHz
256 MB
360 W
5.6
DDR5-4800
AMD EPYC 9534
64 / 128
2.45 GHz
256 MB
280 W
4.4
DDR5-4800
AMD EPYC 9474F
48 / 96
3.6 GHz
256 MB
360 W
7.5
DDR5-4800
AMD EPYC 9454
48 / 96
2.75 GHz
256 MB
290 W
6.0
DDR5-4800
AMD EPYC 9384X
32 / 64
3.1 GHz
768 MB
320 W
10.0
DDR5-4800
AMD EPYC 9374F
32 / 64
3.85 GHz
256 MB
320 W
10.0
DDR5-4800
AMD EPYC 9354
32 / 64
3.25 GHz
256 MB
280 W
8.8
DDR5-4800
AMD EPYC 9334
32 / 64
2.7 GHz
128 MB
210 W
6.6
DDR5-4800
AMD EPYC 9274F
24 / 48
4.05 GHz
256 MB
320 W
13.3
DDR5-4800
AMD EPYC 9254
24 / 48
2.9 GHz
128 MB
200 W
8.3
DDR5-4800
AMD EPYC 9224
24 / 48
2.5 GHz
64 MB
200 W
8.3
DDR5-4800
AMD EPYC 9184X
16 / 32
3.55 GHz
768 MB
320 W
20.0
DDR5-4800
AMD EPYC 9174F
16 / 32
4.1 GHz
256 MB
320 W
20.0
DDR5-4800
AMD EPYC 9124
16 / 32
3 GHz
64 MB
200 W
12.5
DDR5-4800
Table 41 rates every processor at 35°C on air with every front it covers except 12 × 3.5-inch, which needs liquid cooling for the 400 W class and holds the 300 W class to 30°C.
Heat sinks follow processor class: a 2U standard heat sink for the 240 W class and a 2U extended one above it (always extended with 12 × 3.5-inch); GPU builds switch to a 1U extended heat sink.
Table 3 prints some cTDP ranges oddly — 360–320 W for the 9474F and 320–320 W for the 9374F, 9274F and 9174F — and gives the 9224 64 MB of L3, where the R6625 and R7615 guides print 384 MB.
The 9684X is listed at a 400 W default TDP and 2.20 GHz base clock here, against 320 W and 2.55 GHz in the R6625 guide.
The GPU thermal tables rate 14 of the 19 processors; the 9734, 9754, 9684X, 9384X and 9184X have no air-cooled GPU entry.
03 — Memory
24 DIMM slots, 12 per processor
Twenty-four DDR5 RDIMM slots, twelve per socket at one DIMM per channel, reaching 6 TB. The module list runs from 16 GB to 256 GB at 4800, 5600 and 6400 MT/s, and every module drops to 4800 MT/s on this platform.
Capacity with every slot filled
by DIMM size
Rated memory speed
from the processor table
Processor family
Up to
AMD EPYC 9004
4800 MT/s
6 TB is 24 × 256 GB, and Dell’s thermal notes restrict that size to SK hynix modules.
On air, 128 GB modules appear only under the diskless and 8 × 2.5-inch U.2 columns; 256 GB adds the 16-bay SmartFlow fronts at 30°C. The 24 × 2.5-inch SAS, 16 + 8 mixed, 8 × 3.5-inch and 12 × 3.5-inch fronts stop at 96 GB, or 2,304 GB in total.
Liquid cooling does not lift the memory limit: Dell’s liquid table rates 128 GB and 256 GB only with the diskless and 8 × 2.5-inch U.2 fronts and marks them not supported with the 24 × 2.5-inch SAS and 3.5-inch fronts; it has no 16-bay column.
Table 5 marks the 96 GB 6400 MT/s module with an asterisk but prints no footnote for it. UDIMMs are not supported.
04 — Storage
23 drive-bay layouts, up to 36 bays
Front options: no backplane; eight or twelve 3.5-inch bays; eight, sixteen or twenty-four 2.5-inch bays; or eight, sixteen or thirty-two E3.S Gen5 bays. At the rear, a module adds two or four 2.5-inch drives or four E3.S drives. The matrix also lists a 20-device layout of 16 E3.S NVMe drives plus four SCM E3.S 2T modules.
Headline layouts
front panel view
Front panel
Rear module
Thirty-two E3.S Gen5 drives at the front and four in a rear module, all on S160 — 36 in total, though the thermal tables give no ratings for E3.S layouts.
SAS/SATANVMeSAS/SATA + NVMe
Controllers & boot
S160 — Software RAID. Entry tier (S160_NVMe for NVMe direct configs)
PERC H355 — RAID. Value tier, PERC 11 (front PERC H355F or adapter)
HBA355i — HBA. Value tier, HBA 11 internal (front HBA355iF or adapter)
HBA355e — HBA. Value tier, HBA 11 external
HBA465i — HBA. Value tier, HBA 12 internal
HBA465e — HBA. Value tier, HBA 12 external
PERC H755 — RAID. PERC 11 (front PERC H755F or adapter); Table 6 lists it under Premium Performance
PERC H755N — RAID. PERC 11 NVMe (front PERC H755N F)
BOSS-N1 — boot
IDSDM — boot
All 10 controllers and 2 boot options
PERC H965i — RAID. Premium Performance tier, PERC 12 (Harpoon-based) internal, front PERC or adapter
PERC H965e — RAID. Premium Performance tier, PERC 12 external
Rear modules require riser configuration 6, 7, 10 or 11, and no GPU can be fitted alongside any rear module.
The 12 × 3.5-inch layouts use a PERC adapter in a PCIe slot; the 8 × 3.5-inch front uses an HBA355i or H355 front PERC.
The drive table lists 3.5-inch SATA disks up to 24 TB, 2.5-inch NVMe to 61.44 TB and E3.S to 15.36 TB, while Table 2 still quotes 240 TB for twelve 3.5-inch bays.
Without a front backplane, boot has to come from BOSS-N1 or IDSDM. For external capacity Dell lists ME5-series JBODs, USB tape and a NAS software stack.
Every documented layout
23 with drive bays
2.5-inch3.5-inchEDSFF (E1.S / E3.S)
05 — Accelerators & I/O
GPUs, PCIe and networking
The GPU envelope is two double-wide 300 W or six single-wide 75 W cards. Seven models appear in Dell’s R7625 thermal tables — NVIDIA A2, A16, A30, A40, A100 and H100, plus the AMD Instinct MI210 — while the L4 and L40 found in the R7615 tables are absent. Two double-wide 300 W or six single-wide 75 W cards; air-cooled GPU builds are rated with no backplane, 8 × 2.5-inch U.2, 16-bay, 24 × 2.5-inch SAS, 16 + 8 or 8 × 3.5-inch fronts — never 12 × 3.5-inch or a rear module.
NVIDIA A2 16 GB
16GB · not stated per model (system max 2 x DW 300 W or 6 x SW 75 W)
NVIDIA A16 64 GB
64GB · not stated per model (system max 2 x DW 300 W or 6 x SW 75 W)
NVIDIA A30 24 GB
24GB · not stated per model (system max 2 x DW 300 W or 6 x SW 75 W)
NVIDIA A40 48 GB
48GB · not stated per model (system max 2 x DW 300 W or 6 x SW 75 W)
NVIDIA A100 80 GB
80GB · not stated per model (system max 2 x DW 300 W or 6 x SW 75 W)
NVIDIA H100 80 GB
80GB · not stated per model (system max 2 x DW 300 W or 6 x SW 75 W)
AMD Instinct MI210 64 GB
64GB · not stated per model (system max 2 x DW 300 W or 6 x SW 75 W)
I/O topology
2 sockets
Both processors feed the rear slots, and Table 13 shows the split: in the eight-slot layouts processor 1 drives three slots and processor 2 five. Sixteen riser configurations run from none to eight slots, and six of them are paddle-card builds for U.2 or E3.S backplanes.
Management Interface Card (MIC) for Dell DPU card, 2 x 25 GbE or 2 x 100 GbE (optional)
2 × 25GbE/100GbE
PCIe
Configuration 5 (R1S + R2A + R3A + R4P) gives each processor three x16 slots, six in all.
Rear drives are possible only with configurations 6, 7, 10 and 11; configuration 9 (R1B + R2A) is the one-processor layout, with three slots.
Genoa provides up to 128 PCIe 5.0 lanes on Dell platforms, according to the processor chapter; AMD quotes up to 160 for two-socket systems.
Table 12 caps OCP 3.0 at x8, Table 10 allows x16 with the OCP cable, and the NIC notes say an x16 card is downgraded to x8 on the system board.
Cards of 25GbE and faster, PCIe or OCP, need DAC or 85°C-rated active optical cables.
06 — Power & cooling
10 power supplies, 800–3,200 W
Two hot-plug supplies in a 1+1 pair, drawn from ten options in 60 mm and 86 mm form factors. AC choices run from 800 W Platinum to 2800 W Titanium. Separate 1400 W and 3200 W Titanium units take 277 V AC or 336 V DC, and a telco unit delivers 1100 W from a −48 to −60 V DC feed.
AC277 VAC / HVDC−48 V DC
At 100–120 V the 1100 W and 1400 W AC supplies give 1050 W and the 2400 W gives 1400 W; the 1800 W, 2800 W and 3200 W have no low-line rating.
Cords per Table 16: C13 for the 800–1400 W AC units, C15 for 1800 W, C19 for 2400 W, C21 for 2800 W and APP 2006G1 for 3200 W. Jumpers let a C13 lead feed the 1800 W (C14-to-C15) and a C19 lead feed the 2800 W (C20-to-C21).
Dell enables only the larger unit when two different wattages meet at POST, and a replacement added while running stays off unless it matches.
Table 1 lists the 1100 W supply as Platinum; the PSU tables and Table 2 say Titanium.
07 — Management, security & OS
Run it, secure it, choose the OS
Management
iDRAC9 (Express standard on 600-series; Enterprise and Datacenter licences)
iDRAC Direct micro-USB port at the front
iDRAC RESTful API with Redfish
iDRAC Service Module
Quick Sync 2 wireless module and OpenManage Mobile
OpenManage Enterprise with Power Manager, SupportAssist and Update Manager plug-ins
CloudIQ for PowerEdge
Integrations: VMware vCenter and vRealize Operations, Microsoft System Center, Windows Admin Center, ServiceNow, BMC TrueSight, Ansible, Terraform
Security
AMD SEV and SME
SEV-SNP (AMD Infinity Guard)
Silicon Root of Trust
Cryptographically signed firmware
Secure Boot
Secured Component Verification
Data at Rest Encryption (SEDs, local or external key management)
System Lockdown (iDRAC9 Enterprise or Datacenter)
Secure Erase
TPM 2.0 FIPS, CC-TCG certified; TPM 2.0 China NationZ
Operating systems
Canonical Ubuntu Server LTS
Microsoft Windows Server with Hyper-V
Red Hat Enterprise Linux
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server
VMware vSAN / ESXi
Citrix XenServer
08 — Compare
R7525 → R7625 → R7725
Dell’s R7625 guide sets it beside the R7525, and the R7725 guide sets it beside the EPYC 9005 R7725. Every cell comes from one of those two comparison tables.
Next to the R7625 sit its one-socket 2U twin, the R7615, which trades the second socket for a third double-wide GPU; the 1U R6625 and R6615 on the same Genoa processor family; the EPYC 9005 R7725 that replaces it; and the Intel-based R760. The bars show each model’s documented limits.
This modelSiblings and successorEach value from that model’s own verified spec file · bars scale per column
Four two-socket builds that stay inside the thermal tables Dell prints for the R7625, which on this server means choosing the front first. All parts are from the R7625 configurator list; open a build to change it.
AI inference
Two-H100 inference server
Dell’s envelope for the R7625 is two double-wide 300 W GPUs, and the H100 80 GB is one of the seven cards its tables list. Two 48-core 9454s from the 300 W class are rated at 35°C with GPUs on the 8 × 2.5-inch U.2 front, and 24 × 64 GB fills every channel.
2 × AMD EPYC 9454 — 48 cores @ 2.75 GHz, 290 W each
2 × NVIDIA H100 80 GB
24 × 64 GB DDR5 RDIMM — 1.5 TB
4 × 7.68 TB NVMe Gen4 U.2 on S160 — 30.72 TB raw
BOSS-N1 boot module (hardware RAID, 2 × M.2)
Broadcom 2 × 100GbE (Q56) OCP 3.0
2 × 2800 W Titanium (200–240 V only)
Canonical Ubuntu Server 24.04 LTS · ProSupport, 3 years
GPU builds need High-Performance Gold fans and a 1U extended heat sink, and cannot use a rear drive module or the 12 × 3.5-inch front. On air, a GPU build rates 400 W-class processors only with the diskless and 8 × 2.5-inch U.2 fronts; the 8 × 3.5-inch front needs liquid cooling for them.
The 6 TB maximum needs 24 × 256 GB RDIMMs, which Dell supports only as SK hynix parts and only with the diskless, 8 × 2.5-inch U.2 or 16-bay fronts. On the 8 × 2.5-inch U.2 front they keep a 35°C rating, and two 96-core 9654s, also rated 35°C there, fill the sockets.
2 × AMD EPYC 9654 — 96 cores @ 2.4 GHz, 360 W each
24 × 256 GB DDR5 RDIMM — 6 TB
8 × 7.68 TB NVMe Gen4 U.2 on S160 — 61.44 TB raw
BOSS-N1 boot module (hardware RAID, 2 × M.2)
Broadcom 4 × 25GbE SFP28 OCP 3.0
2 × 2400 W Platinum (1+1)
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 15 · ProSupport Plus, 5 years
Dell’s air tables mark 256 GB modules not supported with the 24 × 2.5-inch SAS, 16 + 8, 8 × 3.5-inch and 12 × 3.5-inch fronts, and the liquid-cooling table does the same for the 24 × 2.5-inch SAS and 3.5-inch fronts it lists. Both 128 GB and 256 GB modules call for High-Performance Gold fans.
The 16-bay U.2 SmartFlow front takes two H965i front PERCs for hardware NVMe RAID, and Dell’s tables rate every processor at 35°C with it. Two 32-core 9374F parts suit per-core licensing; memory is 24 × 96 GB, because 128 GB modules are N/A with this front.
2 × AMD EPYC 9374F — 32 cores @ 3.85 GHz, 320 W each
Twelve 20 TB SATA disks behind an H965i PERC adapter fill the 3.5-inch front, and a rear module adds four SAS SSDs for a landing zone or metadata. Two 24-core 9254s from the 240 W class keep a 35°C rating with this front, where 300 W parts drop to 30°C and 400 W parts need liquid cooling.
2 × AMD EPYC 9254 — 24 cores @ 2.9 GHz, 200 W each
24 × 32 GB DDR5 RDIMM — 768 GB
12 × 20 TB 7.2K SATA 3.5-inch — 240 TB raw
4 × 1.92 TB SAS SSD in the rear module — 7.68 TB
PERC H965i adapter for front and rear bays
BOSS-N1 boot module (hardware RAID, 2 × M.2)
Intel 4 × 25GbE SFP28 OCP 3.0
2 × 1400 W Titanium (1+1)
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 · ProSupport, 5 years
Rear drives need riser configuration 6, 7, 10 or 11, GPUs are not supported with this front, and memory is limited to 96 GB modules.
No 12 × 3.5" fronts or rear modules · High-Performance Gold fans
Power
Supplies
Two hot-plug, 1+1 · 60 mm and 86 mm form factors
AC
800 W Platinum · 1100 W Titanium · 1400 W Platinum · 1400 W Titanium · 1800 W Titanium · 2400 W Platinum · 2800 W Titanium
277 V AC / 336 V DC
1400 W Titanium · 3200 W Titanium
Telco DC
1100 W, −48 to −60 V DC
Ports & video
Front
1 × USB 2.0 · 1 × VGA · iDRAC Direct (micro-AB USB)
Rear
1 × USB 2.0 · 1 × USB 3.0 · 1 × VGA (optional with DLC) · dedicated iDRAC Ethernet · optional serial
Internal
1 × USB 3.0
Video
Matrox G200, 16 MB
Environment
ASHRAE A2
10–35°C up to 900 m
ASHRAE A3
5–40°C (35–40°C limited to 10% of yearly runtime) · CPUs ≤ 200 W, DIMMs ≤ 32 GB, no GPUs, PCIe SSDs or rear drives
ASHRAE A4
5–45°C (40–45°C limited to 1% of yearly runtime) · A3 limits plus no BOSS-N1
Max operating altitude
3,048 m
12 — FAQ
R7625 questions, answered from the documentation
What is the maximum memory of the Dell PowerEdge R7625?
Six terabytes, from 24 × 256 GB RDIMMs across two processors. That size is SK hynix-only and, on air, supported only with no backplane, the 8 × 2.5-inch U.2 front or the 16-bay SmartFlow fronts (the last at 30°C). With 24 × 2.5-inch SAS, mixed 16 + 8 or 3.5-inch fronts the largest supported module is 96 GB, for 2,304 GB.
Which processors does the R7625 support?
Nineteen EPYC 9004 models, spanning 16 cores (9124, 9174F, 9184X) to 128 (9754) and 200 W to 400 W default TDP. Dell’s table gives base clock, cores and threads, default and configurable TDP, L3 cache and a 4800 MT/s memory limit for each. The P-suffix single-socket parts on the R7615 list are not offered.
Does the front configuration limit the processors?
Mainly with 3.5-inch disks. Without GPUs, Dell’s thermal guidance rates all 19 processors at 35°C on every front it tabulates except 12 × 3.5-inch, where the 300 W class drops to 30°C and the 400 W class needs Direct Liquid Cooling. The E3.S and 24 × U.2 fronts are not in those tables.
How many drive bays does the R7625 have?
Up to 36 with E3.S: 32 Gen5 drives at the front plus a four-bay rear module, all on S160. The 2.5-inch maximum is 28 (24 front, 4 rear), and the 3.5-inch front takes twelve drives plus up to four rear 2.5-inch bays.
How many GPUs does the R7625 support?
Up to two double-wide cards at 300 W, or up to six single-wide 75 W cards. Named in the thermal tables are the NVIDIA A2, A16, A30, A40, A100 and H100 and AMD’s Instinct MI210. No GPU can be fitted with the 12 × 3.5-inch front or a rear drive module, and every GPU build needs High-Performance Gold fans.
How many PCIe slots does the R7625 have?
Up to eight, spread across both processors; Dell’s Table 2 lists four Gen5 and eight Gen4 slots as the maxima. Sixteen riser configurations are documented, with rear drive modules possible in configurations 6, 7, 10 and 11, and one single-processor layout (configuration 9) with three slots. There is also one OCP NIC 3.0 slot and an optional two-port 1GbE LOM.
Which power supplies can the R7625 use?
Ten, fitted as a redundant pair. AC units run from 800 W to 2400 W (the 1800 W needs 200–240 V), plus a 2800 W Titanium for 200–240 V; 277 V AC or 336 V DC feeds take either a 1400 W or a 3200 W Titanium unit, and −48 to −60 V DC sites get an 1100 W unit. On 100–120 V feeds the 2400 W is limited to 1400 W, while the 1100 W and 1400 W AC units give 1050 W each.
How does the R7625 differ from the R7615?
Both are 2U Genoa servers with similar drive layouts; the difference is the second socket, which gives the R7625 24 DIMM slots and 6 TB against the R7615’s 12 slots and 3 TB. The R7615 in turn takes three double-wide GPUs to the R7625’s two, adds four P-suffix processors, and tops out at a 2400 W supply where the R7625 reaches 3200 W.
What does the R7725 change?
In the R7725 comparison table the sockets move to EPYC 9005, up to 192 cores, and memory speed rises to 6400 MT/s on the same 24 DIMM slots. The front reaches 40 E3.S drives but rear bays are dropped; PCIe becomes eight Gen5 slots, GPUs go to two 450 W double-width cards, and iDRAC10 replaces iDRAC9.
Is the Dell PowerEdge R7625 end of life?
Dell’s R7625 technical guide does not publish an end-of-sale or end-of-support date. What its services appendix offers instead is Post Standard Support, an option that extends hardware coverage for as many as five further years once the initial seven years of ProSupport are over. Our end-of-life checker records dates when Dell announces them.
Specifications are extracted from Dell’s published documents and independently re-checked line by line. Configurations are quote-based; availability and exact options are confirmed at quotation. Last reviewed 2026-09-11.