UK’s trusted IT infrastructure partner since 2003
Servnet
FinanceToolsConfiguratorGet in Touch
Technical data sheet · ProLiant Gen11 tower · 4U tower, single socket

HPE ProLiant ML30 Gen11Specifications, configurations & comparisons

The ProLiant ML30 Gen11 is a single-socket 4U tower that HPE prices for small-business and branch-office budgets. Inside go one chip from the Xeon 6300, Xeon E-2400 or Pentium lists, up to four unbuffered DDR5 modules, four full-height PCIe cards and one of three drive chassis. This data sheet maps its processor and memory limits, storage and controller rules, power from a 350 W ATX unit to redundant Flex Slot pairs, and HPE’s noise and warranty figures.

4U Tower1 socketXeon 6300Xeon E-2400PentiumHPE iLO 6
12cores maximumXeon 6377P · one socket
128GBDDR5 ECC UDIMM4 slots · 4 × 32 GB
8hot-plug SFF baysor 4 LFF, hot-plug or not
4PCIe slots1 × Gen5 x16 · 3 × Gen4 x4
1000Wlargest PSUFlex Slot Titanium · 1+1 option
22dBAbystander noiseEntry model · idle and operating

Every figure checked against the HPE ProLiant ML30 Gen11 QuickSpecs (Version 27 - 03-Aug-2026)

Form factor
4U Tower · 1 socket
Processors
Xeon 6300 · Xeon E-2400 · Pentium
Memory
4 × DDR5 UDIMM · up to 128GB
Drive bays
Up to 8 · 3 drive-cage kits
Expansion
4 × PCIe
GPUs
2 listed
Boot
M.2 and NS204i · 4 boot options
Management
HPE iLO 6
01 — Overview

The ML30 Gen11 at a glance

Our read of HPE’s documentation: where the ML30 Gen11 is strong, and the limits worth knowing before you spec one.

Strengths

  • Eighteen processors to choose from — Xeon 6300 (nine), Xeon E-2400 (eight) and a single Pentium — spanning 46 W to 95 W, with the 12-core Xeon 6377P at the top.
  • Four full-height slots: a PCIe 5.0 x16 slot and a Gen4 slot wired to the processor, plus two half-length Gen4 slots on the PCH — double the MicroServer Gen11’s two low-profile slots.
  • Three factory chassis — 4 LFF non-hot-plug, 4 LFF hot-plug or 8 SFF hot-plug — with SAS SSDs up to 15.36 TB each in the SFF build (122.88 TB listed maximum).
  • Power scales from a single 350 W ATX supply to a pair of hot-plug Flex Slot units (500 W Platinum, 800 W or 1000 W Titanium) in 1+1 redundancy.
  • HPE’s two standard test builds measured 22 dBA (Entry) and 24 dBA (Performance) at the bystander position, idle and under load alike.

Watch-outs

  • Memory stops at 128 GB: four unbuffered ECC UDIMMs of 16 or 32 GB, with RDIMMs and LRDIMMs unsupported.
  • Filling both slots of a channel costs speed — 4000 MT/s with 16 GB and 3600 MT/s with 32 GB modules, against 4400 MT/s at one per channel — and HPE prints that table only for Xeon E and Pentium processors.
  • No NVMe drive bays. NVMe appears only as boot media: one M.2 slot on the optional iLO/NIC/M.2/COM kit, or the NS204i-u, which cannot share the build with an optical drive.
  • SAS controllers, internal or external, and a PCIe 5.0 x16 card both need slot 1, so a SAS controller rules out a Gen5 x16 add-in card.
  • Base warranty covers parts for three years but labour and on-site response for only one.
Processors18 SKUs
Cores / CPU2–12
DIMM slots4
Drive-cage kits3
Max bays8
GPUs2 listed
PSU options4 · to 1,000 W
02 — Processors

18 supported processors, mapped

The ML30 Gen11’s socket takes one of eighteen Intel processors. The Xeon 6300 series supplies nine of them, from quad-core to 12-core; the Xeon E-2400 series eight, from quad-core to eight-core; and the Pentium G7400 is the lone two-core option. The chart plots cores against TDP; every row of HPE’s processor table carries a DDR5 rating of 4400 MT/s.

Processor landscape — cores × TDP

18 SKUs · 3 families
HPE ProLiant ML30 Gen11: every supported processor by cores and TDP08160 W50 W100 WCores per processorIntel Xeon 6377P — 12 cores · 95 W · 3.1 GHz base · 36 MB cache · DDR5-4400Intel Xeon 6369P — 8 cores · 95 W · 3.3 GHz base · 24 MB cache · DDR5-4400Intel Xeon 6357P — 8 cores · 80 W · 3 GHz base · 24 MB cache · DDR5-4400Intel Xeon 6353P — 8 cores · 65 W · 2.7 GHz base · 24 MB cache · DDR5-4400Intel Xeon 6349P — 6 cores · 95 W · 3.6 GHz base · 24 MB cache · DDR5-4400Intel Xeon 6337P — 6 cores · 80 W · 3.5 GHz base · 18 MB cache · DDR5-4400Intel Xeon 6333P — 6 cores · 65 W · 3.1 GHz base · 18 MB cache · DDR5-4400Intel Xeon 6325P — 4 cores · 55 W · 3.5 GHz base · 12 MB cache · DDR5-4400Intel Xeon 6315P — 4 cores · 55 W · 2.8 GHz base · 12 MB cache · DDR5-4400Intel Xeon E-2488 — 8 cores · 95 W · 3.2 GHz base · 24 MB cache · DDR5-4400Intel Xeon E-2478 — 8 cores · 80 W · 2.8 GHz base · 24 MB cache · DDR5-4400Intel Xeon E-2468 — 8 cores · 65 W · 2.6 GHz base · 24 MB cache · DDR5-4400Intel Xeon E-2486 — 6 cores · 95 W · 3.5 GHz base · 18 MB cache · DDR5-4400Intel Xeon E-2456 — 6 cores · 80 W · 3.3 GHz base · 18 MB cache · DDR5-4400Intel Xeon E-2436 — 6 cores · 65 W · 2.9 GHz base · 18 MB cache · DDR5-4400Intel Xeon E-2434 — 4 cores · 55 W · 3.4 GHz base · 12 MB cache · DDR5-4400Intel Xeon E-2414 — 4 cores · 55 W · 2.6 GHz base · 12 MB cache · DDR5-4400Intel Pentium G7400 — 2 cores · 46 W · 3.7 GHz base · 6 MB cache · DDR5-44006377P12 cores · 7.9 W/core — top SKU and most efficient
Xeon 6300 9Xeon E-2400 8Pentium 1Bubble size = L3 cache · hover a bubble for the full SKU

Processor explorer

filter · sort · compare
ProcessorCores / threadsBaseL3 cacheTDPW / coreMemory
Intel Xeon 6377P123.1 GHz36 MB95 W7.9DDR5-4400
Intel Xeon 6369P83.3 GHz24 MB95 W11.9DDR5-4400
Intel Xeon 6357P83 GHz24 MB80 W10.0DDR5-4400
Intel Xeon 6353P82.7 GHz24 MB65 W8.1DDR5-4400
Intel Xeon E-248883.2 GHz24 MB95 W11.9DDR5-4400
Intel Xeon E-247882.8 GHz24 MB80 W10.0DDR5-4400
Intel Xeon E-246882.6 GHz24 MB65 W8.1DDR5-4400
Intel Xeon 6349P63.6 GHz24 MB95 W15.8DDR5-4400
Intel Xeon 6337P63.5 GHz18 MB80 W13.3DDR5-4400
Intel Xeon 6333P63.1 GHz18 MB65 W10.8DDR5-4400
Intel Xeon E-248663.5 GHz18 MB95 W15.8DDR5-4400
Intel Xeon E-245663.3 GHz18 MB80 W13.3DDR5-4400
Intel Xeon E-243662.9 GHz18 MB65 W10.8DDR5-4400
Intel Xeon 6325P43.5 GHz12 MB55 W13.8DDR5-4400
Intel Xeon 6315P42.8 GHz12 MB55 W13.8DDR5-4400
Intel Xeon E-243443.4 GHz12 MB55 W13.8DDR5-4400
Intel Xeon E-241442.6 GHz12 MB55 W13.8DDR5-4400
Intel Pentium G740023.7 GHz6 MB46 W23.0DDR5-4400
  • Every 95 W processor needs the ML30 Gen11 high-performance heat sink kit (P65108-B21); the Step 2a list also prints that requirement beneath the 65 W Xeon 6353P.
  • HPE contradicts itself on the Xeon 6349P: the Standard Features table shows 8 cores at 65 W, the option kit a 6-core, 95 W part. The chart follows the option kit.
  • The Overview’s “What’s New” list still describes Xeon 6300 support as reaching 8 cores, although Version 27 added the 12-core 6377P to the tables.
  • The platform has no processor graphics support, and the Pentium G7400 falls short of Energy Star 4.0.
  • The chipset is Intel’s C262. HPE’s table gives base clock, cores, L3 cache, TDP and memory speed, but no thread counts or turbo clocks.
03 — Memory

4 DDR5 DIMM slots

Four DDR5 slots on two channels, two slots per channel, accepting ECC UDIMMs only. HPE sells 16 GB single-rank and 32 GB dual-rank kits, so four 32 GB modules make the 128 GB ceiling.

Capacity with every slot filled

by DIMM size
16 GB64 GB32 GB128 GB4 slots · 4 per processor · each tick = one DIMM

Operating speed

per HPE memory tables
Processor1 DIMM / channel2 DIMMs / channel
Xeon E-2400 or Pentium G7400 · 16 GB 1R UDIMM4400 MT/s4000 MT/s
Xeon E-2400 or Pentium G7400 · 32 GB 2R UDIMM4400 MT/s3600 MT/s
  • HPE publishes no per-channel speed table for the Xeon 6300 series; their processor rows simply state 4400 MT/s.
  • Speed figures disagree inside the document: the Standard Features capacity line quotes 4 × 32 GB at 4800 MT/s and the Overview calls 4800 MT/s the maximum, while the population rules and every processor row cap UDIMMs at 4400 MT/s. The kits carry DDR5-4800 names and a listed native speed of 5600 MT/s.
  • HPE recommends one, two or four DIMMs for balanced performance, populates slots in the order 2A, 4B, 1C, 3D, and forbids mixing capacities inside a channel.
  • Non-ECC UDIMMs, RDIMMs and LRDIMMs are not supported, and HPE memory from earlier server generations is not qualified. Protection is ECC.
04 — Storage

3 drive-cage kits, up to 8 bays

The ML30 Gen11 is ordered as one of three configure-to-order chassis, and the chassis fixes the front: four 3.5-inch non-hot-plug SATA bays, four 3.5-inch hot-plug SAS/SATA bays, or eight 2.5-inch hot-plug SAS/SATA bays. HPE’s maximum-storage table contains no NVMe drive bays.

Headline layouts

front panel view

Front panel

The 8SFF hot-plug chassis (P65092-B21) and the bay maximum. HPE’s largest listed builds are 122.88 TB with eight 15.36 TB SAS SSDs, 61.44 TB with 7.68 TB SATA SSDs and 19.2 TB with 2.4 TB SAS hard drives.

SAS/SATANVMeSAS/SATA + NVMe

Controllers & boot

  • Embedded Intel VROC SATA Hybrid RAID — Software RAID. Embedded on all models; SATA only; RAID 0/1/5/10; cannot be factory ordered (must be enabled in BIOS); no VMware support; requires UEFI boot mode
  • HPE Smart Array E208e-p SR Gen10 (8 External Lanes/No Cache) 12G SAS PCIe Plug-in Controller — RAID. Essential RAID Controller; external storage only; requires Mini SAS Cable Kit P06307-B21 (1pc for 4LFF HP, 2pcs for 8SFF HP); does not support Non-Hot Plug server
  • HPE MR408i-p Gen11 x8 Lanes 4GB Cache PCI SPDM Plug-in Storage Controller — RAID, 4GB cache. Tri-Mode Controller; PCIe plug-in
  • HPE MR416i-p Gen11 x16 Lanes 8GB Cache PCI SPDM Plug-in Storage Controller — RAID, 8GB cache. Tri-Mode Controller; PCIe plug-in; max 1pc of MR416i-p or MR216i-p
  • HPE MR216i-p Gen11 x16 Lanes without Cache PCI SPDM Plug-in Storage Controller — RAID. Tri-Mode Controller; no cache; requires BCM Cable Kit P57104-B21 (4LFF HP) or SFF PCIe Cable Kit P67850-B21 (8SFF); max 1pc of MR416i-p or MR216i-p
  • HPE NS204i-u Gen11 NVMe Hot Plug Boot Optimized Storage Device — Boot. Includes 2x 480GB M.2 NVMe SSDs, pre-configured hardware RAID1; requires HPE ProLiant ML30 Gen11 NS204i-u Cable Kit (P65098-B21); cannot be selected together with Optical Disk Drives
  • HPE NS204i-u Gen11 NVMe Hot Plug Boot Optimized Storage Device (P48183-B21) - includes 2x 480GB M.2 NVMe SSDs with pre-configured hardware RAID1 — boot
  • HPE ProLiant ML30 Gen11 NS204i-u Cable Kit (P65098-B21) - required with the NS204i-u — boot
  • HPE 480GB NVMe Gen4 Mainstream Performance Read Intensive M.2 2280 PE9010 SSD (P80318-B21) — boot
  • 1 M.2 PCIe 3.0 x2/NVMe slot on the HPE ProLiant ML30 Gen11 iLO/NIC/M.2/COM Port Kit (P65741-B21) — boot
  • Embedded Intel VROC SATA hybrid RAID covers RAID 0, 1, 5 and 10 on SATA drives. It ships disabled, is switched on in BIOS by the customer (it cannot be factory ordered), needs UEFI boot, and has Windows Server and Linux drivers but no VMware support.
  • For SAS or cached RAID HPE lists three tri-mode controllers — MR216i-p (no cache), MR408i-p (4 GB) and MR416i-p (8 GB) — with at most one MR416i-p or MR216i-p per server, and a battery or hybrid-capacitor energy pack is required with them.
  • The E208e-p is for external storage only; it needs one Mini-SAS cable kit on the 4LFF hot-plug chassis and two on the 8SFF chassis.
  • For boot, the NS204i-u mirrors two 480 GB M.2 NVMe SSDs with hardware RAID 1 and needs its own ML30 cable kit; the alternative is the single M.2 PCIe 3.0 x2 slot on the iLO/NIC/M.2/COM kit.
  • HPE gives the 8SFF and LFF hot-plug chassis two half-height 5.25-inch media bays, one of which the slimline kit turns into a DVD bay; for the non-hot-plug chassis it confirms an optical bay but states no bay count. The QuickSpecs still list internal LTO-8 and LTO-9 drives (one at most, and no more than two optical, tape and internal docking devices combined), though Version 27 records removing obsolete internal tape SKUs.

Every documented drive-cage kit

3 with drive bays
8 SFF Hot Plug8 SFF Hot Plug84 LFF Hot Plug4 LFF Hot Plug44 LFF Non-Hot Plug4 LFF Non-Hot Plug4Bays · solid = front · dashed = rear · brighter = NVMe-only
2.5-inch3.5-inchEDSFF (E1.S / E3.S)
05Accelerators & I/O

GPUs, PCIe and networking

HPE’s option list names two NVIDIA cards for the ML30 Gen11, the RTX A400 and the RTX A1000, carrying 4 GB and 8 GB of memory respectively, but states no maximum quantity or TDP. With either one installed the iLO video port is disabled and remote console work moves to the iLO web interface. Version 27 also removed the ML30 GPU power cable kit and obsolete accelerator SKUs, so check availability when quoting. NVIDIA RTX A400 4 GB or RTX A1000 8 GB · no quantity limit printed · iLO video port disabled when fitted.

NVIDIA RTX A400 4GB PCIe ATX Bracket Accelerator for HPE

4GB

NVIDIA RTX A1000 8GB PCIe Accelerator for HPE

8GB

I/O topology

1 socket
CPUPCIe 5.0 + PCIe 4.04 DIMMSlots 1–2 · processorGen5 x16 · Gen4 x4 (x8 conn.)Slots 3–4 · PCHGen4 x4 (x8 conn.) · half length4 × 1GbE BCM5719port 1 shared with iLO 6Dedicated iLO portoptional iLO/NIC/M.2/COM kit

The slot table divides the four slots between the processor and the PCH: slots 1 and 2 hang off the CPU, slots 3 and 4 off the PCH. Only slot 1 is x16 electrically; the other three have x8 connectors wired for four lanes. HPE lists no OCP slot, so networking starts with the embedded four-port 1GbE adapter.

Network adapters HPE lists

9 options
AdapterPortsForm
Embedded Broadcom BCM5719 Ethernet 1Gb 4-port BASE-T Adapter4 × 1GbEembedded
Broadcom BCM5719 Ethernet 1Gb 4-port BASE-T Adapter for HPE4 × 1GbEPCIe
Broadcom BCM57416 Ethernet 10Gb 2-port BASE-T Adapter for HPE2 × 10GbEPCIe
Broadcom BCM57412 Ethernet 10Gb 2-port SFP+ Adapter for HPE2 × 10GbEPCIe
Broadcom BCM57414 Ethernet 10/25Gb 2-port SFP28 Adapter for HPE2 × 10/25GbEPCIe
Broadcom BCM57504 Ethernet 10/25Gb 4-port SFP28 Adapter for HPE4 × 10/25GbEPCIe
Intel E810-XXVDA2 Ethernet 10/25Gb 2-port SFP28 Adapter for HPE2 × 10/25GbEPCIe
Intel E810-XXVDA4 Ethernet 10/25Gb 4-port SFP28 Adapter for HPE4 × 10/25GbEPCIe
Mellanox MCX631102AS-ADAT Ethernet 10/25Gb 2-port SFP28 Adapter for HPE2 × 10/25GbEPCIe
  • When an x8 controller and an x8 NIC are both fitted, HPE advises the controller for slot 1 and the NIC for slot 2.
  • Any PCIe card calls for the Front PCI Fan and Baffle Kit (P65106-B21), which both hot-plug chassis must include anyway. On the non-hot-plug chassis it is also needed for an M.2 SSD; 1Gb network adapters are exempt, and so is the E208e-p, although HPE elsewhere rules that controller out of non-hot-plug servers.
  • Network cards run to 25GbE: a four-port 1GbE BCM5719, two-port 10GbE BASE-T or SFP+, and two- or four-port 10/25Gb SFP28 cards from Broadcom, Intel and Mellanox.
  • Rear I/O is VGA, DisplayPort, four USB 3.2 Gen 1 ports and the four RJ-45 ports, with an optional serial port; the rear USB ports lose power in standby.
06 — Power & cooling

4 power supplies, 350–1,000 W

Two routes. The entry route is a non-redundant 350 W ATX supply, sold under its ML30 Gen10 Plus part name. The other is one or two hot-plug Flex Slot supplies — 500 W Platinum, 800 W Titanium or 1000 W Titanium — which need the ML30 Gen11 RPS Enablement Kit (P65104-B21); two matching units give 1+1 redundancy.

05001000350 W Platinum — HPE ProLiant ML30 Gen10 Plus 350W Platinum ATX FIO Power Supply; Standard Features lists it as 'HPE ML30 Gen10 Plus 350W FIO Power Supply Kit' with power efficiency at 94% multi-output; entry-level/Gold 92% and Platinum 94% certified per Standard Features narrative; cannot be selected with GPU Power Cable Kit P74449-B21350Platinum500 W Platinum — HPE 500W Flex Slot Platinum Hot Plug Low Halogen Power Supply Kit; power efficiency at 94% single output; requires RPS Enablement Kit P65104-B21500Platinum800 W Titanium — HPE 800W Flex Slot Titanium Hot Plug Low Halogen Power Supply Kit; power efficiency at 96% single output; rated 800W at 200-240 VAC only; requires RPS Enablement Kit P65104-B21800Titanium1000 W Titanium — HPE 1000W Flex Slot Titanium Hot Plug Power Supply Kit; power efficiency at 96% single output; requires RPS Enablement Kit P65104-B211000TitaniumWatts · dashed line = output at 100–120 V low line
AC
  • The 800 W Titanium unit is rated only at 200–240 VAC. The 350 W supply is rated from 100 to 230 VAC and the 500 W and 1000 W units from 100 to 240 VAC.
  • HPE quotes 94% efficiency for the 350 W (multi-output) and 500 W units and 96% for the two Titanium units.
  • Two different supplies may not be combined: a redundant partner has to share the first unit’s part number.
  • Heat output is published only for the 500 W supply: 1902 BTU/hr at 100 VAC.
  • Cooling is one 92 × 32 mm system fan, non-hot-plug and non-redundant, plus a 92 × 32 mm PCIe fan module depending on model.
07 — Management, security & OS

Run it, secure it, choose the OS

Management

  • HPE iLO 6 (iLO 6 ASIC) · iLO Standard with Intelligent Provisioning
  • iLO Advanced and iLO Advanced Premium Security Edition (licensed)
  • iLO on shared NIC port 1, or a dedicated 1GbE port via kit P65741-B21
  • HPE Compute Ops Management — 3-year subscription added by default on Gen11 orders
  • HPE OneView Standard (download) · OneView Advanced (licensed)
  • iLO RESTful API (Redfish) · IPMI 2.0 · SNMP v3
  • Active Health System · Smart Update Manager with the SPP

Security

  • Immutable Silicon Root of Trust
  • UEFI Secure Boot and Secure Start
  • Embedded TPM 2.0 (disabled on China shipments)
  • FIPS 140-2 validation · Common Criteria certification
  • Digitally signed updates, Secure Recovery and firmware rollback
  • Secure erase of NAND/user data
  • Intel TXT
  • Front bezel key-lock, padlock slot and Kensington lock slot

Operating systems

  • No OS list in the QuickSpecs — HPE refers to its Servers Support & Certification Matrices
  • Intel VROC SATA RAID: Windows Server and Linux drivers; VMware not supported
  • Microsoft logo certifications listed under industry-standard compliance
08 — Compare

How the ML30 Gen11 compares with its family

Two other single-socket Gen11 ProLiants share the ML30’s Xeon 6300, Xeon E and Pentium families. The MicroServer Gen11 keeps the 128 GB UDIMM ceiling in a 15.4 cm-tall chassis with two low-profile slots and a shorter processor list; the DL20 Gen11 is a 1U rack server with the same 128 GB limit. Above it, the ML110 Gen11 is a 4.5U tower with a Xeon Scalable processor and sixteen RDIMM slots, and the ML350 Gen11 is the two-socket tower.

ML30 Gen11MicroServer Gen11ML110 Gen11DL20 Gen11ML350 Gen11Cores / CPUML30 Gen11: 1212MicroServer Gen11: 1212ML110 Gen11: 3232DL20 Gen11: 1212ML350 Gen11: 6464DIMM slotsML30 Gen11: 44MicroServer Gen11: 44ML110 Gen11: 1616DL20 Gen11: 44ML350 Gen11: 3232Max memoryML30 Gen11: 0.125 TB0.125MicroServer Gen11: 0.125 TB0.125ML110 Gen11: 1.5 TB1.5DL20 Gen11: 0.125 TB0.125ML350 Gen11: 8 TB8Max drive baysML30 Gen11: 88MicroServer Gen11: 44ML110 Gen11: 1616DL20 Gen11: 66ML350 Gen11: 2424Max GPUsML30 Gen11: 00MicroServer Gen11: 11ML110 Gen11: 22DL20 Gen11: 00ML350 Gen11: 88Largest PSUML30 Gen11: 1,000 W1,000MicroServer Gen11: 330 W330ML110 Gen11: 1,600 W1,600DL20 Gen11: 1,000 W1,000ML350 Gen11: 2,200 W2,200
This modelSiblings and successorEach value from that model’s own verified spec file · bars scale per column
09 — Use cases

Four builds that suit the ML30 Gen11

Four ways to build an ML30 Gen11, from a branch box modelled on HPE’s Entry configuration to a GPU-assisted video server. Every part below is one our configurator accepts for this server, and each build opens there for editing.

Branch office

Point-of-sale and print server for a branch

HPE pitches the ML30 at point of sale, printing, storage and security monitoring in franchise and branch sites. This build sits close to HPE’s pre-configured Entry model (E-2414, 16 GB, 4LFF non-hot-plug, 350 W) — the configuration that measured 22 dBA — but moves to the E-2434, a 55 W four-core part at 3.4 GHz, and fills the four bays to the 16 TB HPE lists for that chassis.

  • 1 × Xeon E-24344 cores @ 3.4 GHz, 55 W
  • 2 × 16 GB DDR5 ECC UDIMM — 32 GB
  • 4 × 4 TB 3.5-inch SATA HDD, non-hot-plug — 16 TB raw
  • Embedded Intel VROC SATA RAID
  • Embedded 4 × 1GbE (Broadcom BCM5719)
  • 1 × 350 W ATX supply (non-redundant)
  • Windows Server 2025 Standard
  • HPE Tech Care Basic

The four bays are non-hot-plug. HPE bars the E208e-p from this chassis and is inconsistent on tri-mode controllers: unsupported in the controller notes, permitted alongside an internal LTO drive in the tape notes. VROC must be switched on in BIOS, and the single ATX supply and single system fan give no redundancy. Our configurator link starts with two supplies; set it to one, because the 350 W ATX unit is non-redundant.

Open this build in the configurator →
Small virtualisation

Windows Server virtualisation host on SAS SSDs

Twelve cores from the Xeon 6377P and the full 128 GB of UDIMM leave room for a handful of VMs, eight SAS SSDs on an MR408i-p with 4 GB cache hold them, and the NS204i-u keeps the operating system on its own mirrored M.2 pair. Redundant 500 W Flex Slot supplies suit a server that has to stay up.

  • 1 × Xeon 6377P12 cores @ 3.1 GHz, 95 W
  • 4 × 32 GB DDR5 ECC UDIMM — 128 GB, the ML30 Gen11 maximum
  • 8 × 3.84 TB 2.5-inch SAS SSD — 30.72 TB raw
  • HPE MR408i-p tri-mode controller, 4 GB cache
  • HPE NS204i-u boot device (2 × 480 GB M.2 NVMe, RAID 1)
  • Broadcom BCM57414 2 × 10/25GbE SFP28 PCIe
  • 2 × 500 W Flex Slot Platinum, hot-plug (1+1)
  • Windows Server 2025 Datacenter
  • HPE Tech Care Essential

The 95 W 6377P needs the high-performance heat sink kit, the MR408i-p a battery or capacitor pack plus the ML30 SFF PCIe cable kit, and the Flex Slot pair the RPS Enablement Kit. The controller takes slot 1, so no Gen5 x16 card can be added, and the NS204i-u rules out an optical drive. HPE’s two-per-channel speeds are published for Xeon E and Pentium only.

Open this build in the configurator →
Security monitoring

Video server with an NVIDIA RTX A1000

Security monitoring is one of the workloads HPE names for this tower. Eight 7.68 TB SATA SSDs in the 8SFF chassis reach the 61.44 TB HPE lists for SATA SSDs and run on embedded VROC, which needs no controller card; the RTX A1000 adds a GPU and the eight-core E-2488 handles ingest.

  • 1 × Xeon E-24888 cores @ 3.2 GHz, 95 W
  • 1 × NVIDIA RTX A1000 8 GB
  • 4 × 16 GB DDR5 ECC UDIMM — 64 GB
  • 8 × 7.68 TB 2.5-inch SATA SSD — 61.44 TB raw
  • Embedded Intel VROC SATA RAID
  • Broadcom BCM57416 2 × 10GbE BASE-T PCIe
  • 2 × 800 W Flex Slot Titanium, hot-plug (1+1)
  • Windows Server 2025 Standard
  • HPE Tech Care Essential

With the A1000 fitted the iLO video port is disabled, and Version 27 removed the GPU power cable kit and obsolete accelerator SKUs, so confirm the card is still orderable; the same revision also pruned obsolete SKUs from the 6G SATA read-intensive SSD group that holds the 7.68 TB drive. The 95 W E-2488 needs the high-performance heat sink, the 800 W Titanium units need 200–240 VAC, and four 16 GB UDIMMs run at 4000 MT/s.

Open this build in the configurator →
Backup target

Four-bay SAS backup repository

A backup target needs spindles, not cores. The six-core, 65 W E-2436 is plenty; the MR216i-p gives SAS access to the four hot-plug LFF bays; and a two-port 10GBASE-T card carries backup traffic off the embedded 1GbE ports.

  • 1 × Xeon E-24366 cores @ 2.9 GHz, 65 W
  • 2 × 16 GB DDR5 ECC UDIMM — 32 GB
  • 4 × 8 TB 3.5-inch SAS HDD, hot-plug — 32 TB raw
  • HPE MR216i-p tri-mode controller (no cache)
  • Broadcom BCM57416 2 × 10GbE BASE-T PCIe
  • 2 × 500 W Flex Slot Platinum, hot-plug (1+1)
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (1-year subscription)
  • HPE Tech Care Basic

The MR216i-p needs the BCM controller cable kit on the 4LFF chassis and an energy pack. HPE’s 4LFF ceiling is 80 TB with 20 TB drives if 32 TB is not enough; for more than four 3.5-inch bays, the ML110 Gen11 takes up to eight.

Open this build in the configurator →
10 — Refurbished alternatives

When a refurbished ProLiant makes more sense

Our refurbished HPE configurator has no entry single-socket tower. The nearest alternatives are a two-socket Gen10 tower with far more room, or a Gen10 single-socket 1U server for sites with a rack.

Gen10 · re-certified

HPE ProLiant ML350 Gen10

  • Tower · 2 × Xeon Scalable
  • 24 DIMM slots · up to 3 TB DDR4
  • Up to 24 × SFF or 12 × LFF
  • iLO 5

When an ML30 Gen11 would be full on day one and a previous-generation tower with a second socket, more DIMM slots and three times the SFF bays suits better.

Configure a refurbished ML350 Gen10
Gen10 · re-certified

HPE ProLiant DL325 Gen10

  • 1U rack · 1 × AMD EPYC 7001
  • Up to 32 cores
  • 16 DIMM slots · up to 2 TB DDR4
  • 10 × SFF / NVMe bays

When the server can live in a rack and needs NVMe bays and more cores than the ML30 Gen11 offers.

Configure a refurbished DL325 Gen10
11 — Full specifications

HPE ProLiant ML30 Gen11 specifications

Chassis & cooling

Form factor4U tower · rack option: sliding shelf 874578-B21 (ML Gen10 tower-to-rack kit; its note cites ML30 Gen10 Plus)
Dimensions (H × W × D)36.83 × 17.53 × 47.50 cm (14.50 × 6.90 × 18.70 in)
Weight10.2 kg minimum (4LFF non-hot-plug, one drive) · 18.7 kg fully loaded
Chassis options4LFF non-hot-plug (P65090-B21) · 4LFF hot-plug (P65091-B21) · 8SFF hot-plug (P65092-B21)
Media bays2 × half-height 5.25-inch on the hot-plug chassis (slim DVD via P65102-B21) · count not stated for 4LFF non-hot-plug
Fans1 × 92 × 32 mm system fan · PCIe fan module by model · non-redundant

Processor

SocketsOne
FamiliesIntel Xeon 6300 (9) · Xeon E-2400 (8) · Pentium G7400
Cores2–12
TDP46–95 W (95 W needs heat sink kit P65108-B21)
ChipsetIntel C262

Memory

Slots4 × DDR5 ECC UDIMM · 2 channels, 2 DIMMs per channel
DIMM kits16 GB single-rank · 32 GB dual-rank
Speed4400 MT/s at 1 DPC · 4000 MT/s (16 GB) / 3600 MT/s (32 GB) at 2 DPC — Xeon E and Pentium
Maximum128 GB (4 × 32 GB)
ProtectionECC

Storage

Front bays4 × 3.5" SATA non-hot-plug · 4 × 3.5" SAS/SATA hot-plug · 8 × 2.5" SAS/SATA hot-plug
Largest listed80 TB (4 × 20 TB LFF) · 122.88 TB (8 × 15.36 TB SAS SSD)
ControllersIntel VROC SATA (embedded) · MR216i-p, MR408i-p, MR416i-p · E208e-p (external)
BootNS204i-u (2 × 480 GB M.2 NVMe, RAID 1) · 1 × M.2 PCIe 3.0 x2 slot on kit P65741-B21

Expansion & networking

Slot 1PCIe 5.0 x16, full height, full length (processor)
Slot 2PCIe 4.0 x4 in x8 connector, full height, full length (processor)
Slots 3–4PCIe 4.0 x4 in x8 connector, full height, half length (PCH)
Embedded NIC4 × 1GbE Broadcom BCM5719
NIC options1GbE, 10GbE and 10/25GbE PCIe cards · no OCP slot listed

Accelerators

GPUs listedNVIDIA RTX A400 4 GB · NVIDIA RTX A1000 8 GB
RestrictioniLO video port disabled when a GPU is installed

Power

Non-redundant350 W ATX (94%, multi-output)
Flex Slot, 1+1500 W Platinum (94%) · 800 W Titanium (96%, 200–240 VAC only) · 1000 W Titanium (96%)
RequirementRPS Enablement Kit P65104-B21 for Flex Slot supplies · no mixing

Ports & video

Front1 × USB 3.2 Gen 1 · 1 × USB 2.0 (iLO service port)
Rear4 × USB 3.2 Gen 1 · VGA · DisplayPort · 4 × RJ-45 · optional serial and dedicated iLO
Internal2 × USB 3.2 Gen 2
Video1920 × 1200 at 85 Hz (16 bpp), 16 MB video memory

Environment & acoustics

Standard operating10–35 °C at sea level, derated 1.0 °C per 304.8 m
Extended (approved configs)5–10 °C and 35–45 °C
Operating altitude3048 m
Acoustics (23 °C)22 dBA Entry · 24 dBA Performance (bystander, idle and operating) · 3.8 B sound power

Warranty

Standard3 years parts · 1 year labour · 1 year on-site, next business day
APAC, Japan, PRC3 years parts, labour and on-site
12 — FAQ

ML30 Gen11 questions, answered from the documentation

What is the maximum memory of the HPE ProLiant ML30 Gen11?

The ML30 Gen11 takes 128 GB: four DDR5 ECC UDIMM slots filled with 32 GB modules. HPE sells only 16 GB and 32 GB unbuffered kits; RDIMMs, LRDIMMs and non-ECC modules are unsupported. HPE’s memory rules cap the modules at 4400 MT/s, although the Standard Features line quotes the 128 GB maximum at 4800 MT/s; for Xeon E and Pentium processors its table falls to 4000 or 3600 MT/s once both slots of a channel are filled.

Which processors does the ML30 Gen11 support?

A single processor, picked from eighteen: nine Xeon 6300 models with 4–12 cores, eight Xeon E-2400 models with 4–8 cores, or the two-core Pentium G7400. Power ratings span 46–95 W, and the 95 W models need the high-performance heat sink kit. The top option is the 12-core Xeon 6377P, added in Version 27 of the QuickSpecs.

How many drives does the ML30 Gen11 hold?

Up to eight. The server comes as one of three chassis: four 3.5-inch non-hot-plug SATA bays, four 3.5-inch hot-plug SAS/SATA bays, or eight 2.5-inch hot-plug SAS/SATA bays. There are no NVMe bays; NVMe is limited to the NS204i-u boot device or a single M.2 slot on an optional kit.

Can the ML30 Gen11 take a GPU?

HPE lists two NVIDIA cards, the RTX A400 with 4 GB and the RTX A1000 with 8 GB, but does not state how many can be fitted or their power. Either card switches off the iLO video port, leaving the iLO web GUI for remote console use. Version 27 of the QuickSpecs removed the GPU power cable kit and some obsolete accelerator SKUs.

How many PCIe slots does the ML30 Gen11 have?

Four full-height slots. Slot 1 is PCIe 5.0 x16 and slot 2 is PCIe 4.0 with four lanes, both from the processor; slots 3 and 4 are half-length PCIe 4.0 x4 slots on the PCH. There is no OCP slot, and SAS controllers compete with Gen5 x16 cards for slot 1.

Does the ML30 Gen11 have redundant power supplies?

Only if you choose it. The entry option is a single 350 W ATX supply with no redundancy. For 1+1 redundancy, fit two identical hot-plug Flex Slot units — 500 W Platinum, 800 W Titanium or 1000 W Titanium — together with the RPS Enablement Kit; the 800 W unit needs 200–240 VAC.

Is the ML30 Gen11 quiet enough for an office, and how big is it?

HPE declares 22 dBA at the bystander position for its Entry model and 24 dBA for its Performance model, idle and operating, measured at 23 °C; added options can raise that. The tower is 36.83 cm high, 17.53 cm wide and 47.50 cm deep, and weighs 10.2 kg in its lightest build and 18.7 kg fully loaded.

Can the ML30 Gen11 be rack-mounted?

Only by way of a shelf. The Overview names sliding shelf 874578-B21 as the optional route to a rack form factor; in the option list that part is HPE’s ML Gen10 tower-to-rack conversion kit, a sliding rail tray with cable management arm that occupies 1U. Its note says it gives shelf function for the ML30 Gen10 Plus, so confirm Gen11 fit with HPE before ordering. HPE describes the ML30 Gen11 itself only as a 4U tower.

Should I choose the ML30 Gen11, the MicroServer Gen11 or the ML110 Gen11?

The MicroServer Gen11 uses the same processor families and 128 GB memory limit in a 15.4 cm-tall chassis, but has four non-hot-plug bays, two low-profile slots and an external power adapter. The ML30 adds hot-plug bays, four full-height slots and redundant supplies. The ML110 Gen11 moves to Xeon Scalable processors, sixteen RDIMM slots and up to sixteen SFF bays.

Is the HPE ProLiant ML30 Gen11 end of life?

Not according to HPE’s own document: Version 27 of the ML30 Gen11 QuickSpecs, dated 3 August 2026, still adds processors and carries no end-of-sale or end-of-support date — the only withdrawals it records are obsolete option SKUs. For the latest lifecycle status, run the model through our server end-of-life checker.

Sources & verification

Where these figures come from

Specifications are extracted from HPE’s published documents and independently re-checked line by line. Configurations are quote-based; availability and exact options are confirmed at quotation. Last reviewed 2026-09-11.

Get a quote for the HPE ProLiant ML30 Gen11

Tell us the workload and we’ll spec and price it — or build it in the configurator first.

Business enquiries only — please use your company email. Gmail, Hotmail and other personal addresses are not accepted.

We only ship hardware to the countries in the dropdown. Software and maintenance services are global.

Enquiring about: HPE ProLiant ML30 Gen11

Response within 4 business hours · No obligation

Quote for
HPE ProLiant ML30 Gen11
0800 987 4111

Talk to a UK specialist

Get expert advice or a no-obligation quote — servers, storage, networking, maintenance, finance and cloud. We reply the same working day.

or call 0800 987 4111